One Lazy Hippie

Standard

I think hippies are awesome.  I don’t mean the pot-smoking music lovers of the 1960’s.  I mean the new-millenium hippies.  Think about it… they want to save the earth and stop war and animal abuse and promote family and small business and all that good stuff.  Who doesn’t think those are great, worthy causes?

My family and friends call me a hippie.

Among my circle of aquaintances I am one of the few who is an adamant supporter of breastfeeding. I use cloth diapers. I put marigold tea on my little girl’s mosquito bites.  I wanted very much to have a waterbirth and railed against the universe when it became medically necessary for me to have a c-section.  Both times! (Ugh! I’m getting frustrated just thinking about it!).  I have an inordinate fondness for very long skirts and dresses (though, admittedly this has more to do with covering up my hamhockesque legs than with any kind of social statement).  They roll their eyes and (not always) patiently listen while I talk about the evils of the political establishment and I’m quite certain that they talk behind my back about whether or not I’ve had my children vaccinated. (I could tell, but it’s more fun to keep people guessing).  Those closest to me always knew I was a hippie at heart, forever wandering the earth in search of….. well…. I’m not really sure. But I had fun wandering! 10 years ago I married a guy who totally gets it.  When I have a bad headache he touches my feet and tones for me.  When I had trouble with my pregnancy he enrolled me in an energetic balancing program.  He’s the one who told me about the marigolds.

But I am lazy.  And, hippies of the new millenium aren’t.  I mean…. have you ever read what it takes to make a proper compost pile?  I did it my way and just ended up with a pile of old banana peels and egg shells that the neighbors complained about.

The only reason I use cloth diapers is because someone smarter (and no doubt more ambitious) than me invented “hybrid” diapers that allow me to flush the poo away instead of actually cleaning it up. Otherwise?  Ew! No! I wouldn’t deal with that mess!

My daughter went to preschool with a hippie mama who ONLY bought organic food.  I absolutely believe that organics are healthier and we should all be eating them.  But this lady?  She drove 45 minutes from our little rural community to buy it. She paid astronomical prices and bought produce in bulk so she could can or freeze everything herself.  When Red Baron comes out with a $4 organic frozen pizza that is sold at the local Walmart I will be all over that.  Until then, my efforts are half-hearted at best.

Which brings up another point.  Being a hippie in 1968 meant living in a park in Califonia and bathing less often.  These days it’s quite pricey!  Organics cost a fortune.  So do vaccinations, for that matter! Anyway…. that’s a blog for another day.  But being one of the 99% makes a lot of my decisions too.  I buy the $1.25 spaghetti sauce with High Fructose Corn Syrup (gasp!) instead of the $7 all natural stuff on the top shelf.

A hippie mama (in my mind) spends time with her child picking wildflowers and composing music to the beat of the bongos.  Mostly I watch tv with my kids.  Only educational tv though. Well. Mostly. But I have discovered a few cheap, easy ways to make a bit of an effort toward saving the earth, protecting animals, promoting family time, etc.  And, let’s face it, if we all made just a bit of an effort, wouldn’t it make a huge difference?

So, now I have a blog and I hope to share all my lazy hippie tips. And maybe… just maybe… we can save the earth, promote love and peace AND have time left over to watch Glee.  Uhm… I mean, educational television.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Childhood Vaccinations: One Mama’s Thoughts « lazyhippiemama

  2. Pingback: Hippies in the Drive Thru « lazyhippiemama

  3. Pingback: A Hippie Mama, Getting Older « lazyhippiemama

  4. Pingback: Today Is My One Year Blogiversary! | lazyhippiemama

Leave a Reply

