My Earth Day Post – Please Eat More

Standard

I have been astonished to watch my little WordPress ticker!  People I have never met  LIKE me.  It’s… it’s…. golly.  It’s like all the acceptance I’d hoped for in High School is finally mine.  *blush* Gosh. Thank you blog followers! I like you too!  I’ve noticed that some of you are from other countries.  I don’t know if you too have noticed this problem in your worthy nations.  Perhaps you’ll take a moment to share.  I really would love to hear. But here’s the thing:  we are killing the Earth because we just don’t eat enough!

So today, on Earth Day, I’m asking you to please eat more.

OK. So maybe we Americans, chubby people that we are (as a nation. I know that many of you are perfectly fit and you should hold your healthy heads high!), get plenty to eat.  But we WASTE SO MUCH!!!  Did you know that, in 2004, researchers at the University of Arizona determined that 50% of the “ready to eat” food in the United States is thrown away?  Think about that!  HALF of the food produced in this worthy nation is thrown in the garbage.

Kinda makes you want to go dumpster diving, eh?  Oh. Right. Yeah. Me either. Gross.

My friend, Paul, will be mentally climbing into his pulpit to preach right now about the injustice of people starving in a nation that THROWS AWAY HALF of it’s food.  And he is absolutely positively for-ever-and-sure right to do so!  I am  standing strong with him on this one.  It’s the saddest thing I’ve heard in a long time! Preach, Paul, Preach! Let us feed the hungry!!!!!!!!

BUT that’s not what I’m getting at today.  Today is Earth Day.  The day we randomly selected to pay respects to that big round ball (oblate spheroid – I’m a nerd. I admit it)  that God gave us dominion over.  And here’s what I’m thinking….

Living in rural Michigan I am surrounded by farms.  It’s easy for me to witness what it takes to make food.  There are trucks that haul seeds to a giant silo.  There are trucks that haul seeds to the farm.  There are tractors to til the earth and plant the seeds and (like it or not, most farms are still doing this) spray pesticides & fertilizer on the plants and harvest the ripe food. There are trucks and trains that haul stuff to factories where it is produced into various pre-made dinners or sauces or juices or whatever or to the market where it needs to be sprayed with water or refrigerated or frozen. Then we buy it and DRIVE it home in our cars and more refrigeration or freezing is required before we cook it and eat it. And that’s not even considering the animals and their water and food and milking machines and fans for summer and heaters for winter…….   you get the idea.

BUT we only eat HALF!!!!  So all that gasoline, the poison sprays going into the ground, the electricity for storage and preparation is FOR NOTHING!  AAAARRRRGGHHHHHH!!!

Have you ever seen your child wasting food that you paid hard-earned money for?  Didn’t it make you crazy?  It drives me up the wall!  Serious, MAJOR pet peeve.  But the truth is, I do it too. I buy too much produce and throw it away when it spoils.  I don’t feel like eating the tiny bit of leftover pot roast so I toss it in the trash. Apparently, as a nation, we are ridiculously, sinfully guilty of this.  How frustrated our Heavenly Father (or Mother, if you prefer) must be!

So today I’m simply asking you to take care of the Earth by doing what I ask my children to do.  Take all you want. But eat all you take!  And for goodness sake, ENJOY IT! šŸ™‚

I'm not sure she's going to be able to finish that piece of watermelon!

9 responses »

    • Me too! I have a friend who was complaining the other day that she just keeps forgetting to eat. It was like she was speaking a foreign language. Her lips were moving but I just couldn’t understand the words!

  1. I hate food waste myself. It’s like my mom’s voice is always in my head:” finish up your plate, there are children starving in country X”. Of course, i don’t agree with ignoring the satiety signals for obvious reasons; that’s why your advice is very important: take what you want but just finish it.

  2. Lol, I love it! In our family (since I grew up in the clean-your-plate-club era, but got the genetic blessing of morbid obesity in about 75% of the family), the rule is “firsties only, if your’re still hungry, have an apple.” I actually make up the leftovers for lunches right after I fill the plate…if the kiddos don’t finish their portion, its okay, dad usually will…

  3. Pingback: Is God Mad At Us? (Part two) « The Curious Theologian

Leave a Reply

