The Ultimate (for me) Recycling Project Continues

Standard

Remember my awesome idea?  No?  Well go ahead and click the link.  It’s a short read.  I’ll wait…. hum dee doh dee la la la…..

Back?  Well, as previously mentioned, I have learned a lot. I have had some trial and error, but things are moving right along now.

What I’ve learned and experienced so far:

Hot glue works great on plastic but, for this project, you have to use SO MUCH of it that it’s not practical.

Old men who work in hardware stores do not take women wearing babies seriously.  Nor do they understand why anyone would ever have a need to glue plastic water bottles together.

Contact cement does, indeed, cement to anything it comes in contact with.  And it’s stinky.  So incredibly stinky.  Horrible, liver-rotting, brain-cell-killing fumes waft up from the can with eye-watering intensity.

Silicone is cheap and sticky and easy to clean up and relatively waterproof.  This is my adhesive of choice for my project now.  An added bonus is that it gives a bit of flexibility to the structure so that every little bump doesn’t break a piece off.

I still have a long way to go.  I’m about 1/8th done, but I’m moving much faster now that I have a good system.  I think.  Here’s hoping.

So, without further ado, here are the latest pictures.  You’ll notice we’ve moved it outside now because it no longer fits in the house.

Up close

The long view

With the Lovely Hippie Daughter, for perspective

I hope to have a recognizable frame completed by this time next week.  Which means it may have a recognizable frame before July 1.

But for now… any more guesses?  You are SO going to want one of these when I’m done!  Assuming it looks sort of like what I’ve got in my head.  Which may or may not happen.  I’ll keep you posted.

10 responses »

  1. I couldn’t get the links to work, but your project still intrigues me. I hope we won’t be in suspense too long.

  2. Pingback: Recycling, Baby Birds, Nasty Colds and Other Unrelated Items « lazyhippiemama

Leave a Reply

