“The One Lovely Blog” and “Tell Me About Yourself” Awards!

Standard

When I first started blogging, not so very long ago, I read up a lot on what it was all about.  Again and again and again I saw the phrase, “It’s all about community.”  I’ve found that to be very true.  Perhaps we, of the computer age, don’t view socializing in exactly the same way that our parents and grandparents did, but I think that we’ve found a form of community.  In the blogosphere I’ve “met” other moms and dads, writers, artists, cooks, comedians and young people with important things to talk about.  I’ve seen the support that is poured out on those that express a need  and the joy that is shared with those who are celebrating.  It may not be traditional, but it is beautiful in its own new, modern way, and I’d be willing to bet that those who are a part of it take great strength and encouragement from this sense of community.

In that same spirit of community, there are awards that get passed around.  Every so often one of them pops up in my inbox and it never fails to fill me up with happiness.  It means that, in some way, I’ve made another connection to this extraordinary group of creative people.  So thank you very much to the thoughtful and talented bloggers who shared these with me!

The “One Lovely Blog Award” comes from Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars.  If you’re not already a follower of this blog I’d highly suggest you click on over there and see what nearly 2,600 other people have discovered:  someone who is talking honestly and clearly about issues of the  mind and body  and making it all easy to relate to and often witty.  How can you not love to read the writings of someone who shares some of the darkest struggles of their lives AND tells you that they truly hate the word, “mitten?”

The rule is to tell you seven things about me (I’m afraid I may be running out of things I haven’t told you yet!):

1) My favorite time of day is the very early morning, but I often miss out on experiencing it because I can’t get myself to bed at a reasonable time.

2) I like buying produce I’ve never seen before.

3) I have a terrible fear of being burned.

4) I love swimming, and have since I was a little girl.

5) I have a bit of a compulsion to keep my toenails trimmed all the way down to the quick.

6) I can’t stand the taste/texture of grits or tomato soup.  They both make me instantly feel like I’m going to throw up.

7) My favorite season, by a wide margin, is autumn.

And, now for the best part!  I get to pass it on to some other lovely blogs I’ve discovered!  And the nominees are……

Generational Womanhood – this blog truly is lovely, encouraging women to aspire to be all that God intended them to be.

barelypoppins – she’ll make you laugh with her stories and she’ll make you hungry with her recipes.  What could be lovelier than that?

Mud Between Our Toes – I got hooked when I read that she let her kid eat a bowl of yard clippings for breakfast, and I stayed to see that she has many words of wisdom and useful tips.  You should go see too!

John and Lisa’s Blue Skies Blog – There are beautiful prayers, and honest, wise reflections on religion and life.  Lovely, I tell you!

A Daughter of the Reformation – She and I come from different schools of thought.  I’m not a huge fan of John Calvin.  However, we both have it in our hearts to honor God and this blog is full of very well-thought out theology.  When I don’t agree or don’t understand I say so and I always get kind, honest, thoughtful responses.  That’s very lovely!

Alrighty, then….

Moving on to part deux (oh! It’s getting late.  I think I may be getting silly now)…

The “Tell Me About Yourself Award” comes from Discover and Devour.  If that title isn’t catchy enough I TRIPLE DOG DARE YOU to click on the link and look at the picture across the top of her page and not giggle just a little.  It get’s me every single time!    The book reviews are wonderful for anyone who finds themselves sick to death of reading the same thing to their little ones for the 900th night in a row, but my most favorite posts are always Oster’s Adventures, which I’m thinking need to be a book series in and of themselves.  And the picture of Oster pitching for a MLB team MUST be included in the book!  Go on over there and fall in love with Oster and his family… go on.  I’ll wait.

Hoe-dee-doe-doe-dee-doe-doe-hum-dee-dum-dee-doo….

Wasn’t that fun!  Don’t you just love them?

OK.  So… here’s the award:

And here are 7 MORE things about me because, apparently, inquiring minds want to know.

1) I prefer deep-dish to thin crust

2) I prefer Facebook to Twitter (which I haven’t actually tried at all because I’m happy and comfortable with my dear friend, FB)

3) I prefer vampires to werewolves (though in real life I’m a terrible coward so I’d run shrieking from either)

4) I prefer dark-haired men over fair (well… just one dark-haired man, these days but you know what I mean).

5) I prefer savory over sweet.

6) I prefer cool days over warm ones.

7) I find the word “prefer” rather pretentious, though I will use it when it seems appropriate.

Because I can’t wait to know more about them, I am nominating some  bloggers I’ve only recently become acquainted with.  And the nominees for The Tell Me About Yourself Award are:

Fathead Follies – she makes me laugh with every single post.  Whether it’s the awesomest (YES! That IS a real word, thank you) sidewalk you ever saw or the kid puking over the side of the boat, or promiscuous balls of toxic thoughts,  she’s got so many funny things to say!

The Amateur Astrophysicist – honestly, how many people can balance ongoing encounters with extraterrestrials and screaming toddlers being pelted with water balloons.  You’ve got to want to know more about that person!

Alon Community – I stayed up WAY past my bedtime when I first stumbled upon this site.  Just looking at the pictures made me weep (in a good way).  These people are so obviously full of love and joy and peace and… I need to buy a plane ticket to South Africa now just so I can sit and break bread with them.

Bongodogblog – Bongo is a dog.  He has a blog.  That’s just impressive.  My dog can’t even learn to stop drinking from the toilet.  Bongo thinks his person might be a little bit crazy, but I have a feeling it’s a person who is lots of fun. I’d like to know more, Bongo.  Do share!

Doing Wrong Right – Oh, mama! How I can relate!  You want to do what’s best, but…  how the heck is a girl to know?   This mama loves her gorgeous baby and writes some very funny stuff about the worry and effort that goes into raising her.  And, if you don’t already know how to properly use Nap Shackles on your infant, you should click on the link immediately for this important lesson!

And that, my dear readers, is all she wrote for today.

Good night and God Bless!  🙂

About Elizabeth in MI

I'm a married mama with 2 beautiful step children, 2 from my own belly, and the best husband in the universe! I work part time at my church as a secretary and youth director and I truly enjoy 3 hour naps and reading fiction beneath my education level. Write me a note, any time at lazyhippiemama@hotmail.com. I'd love to hear from you.

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

