Would You Like a Little Bleach With Your Chicken?

Standard

Mmmm. Doesn’t that look lovely? Wouldn’t you like to drizzle a little Clorox over the top of it?

I was clicking through some headlines today and saw one by a favorite blogger of mine, Putting Down Roots.  In the post, she mentions that poultry in the USA must be dipped in bleach before it is sold in supermarkets.

Surely I read that wrong.  Bleach?!

I did a little research and, sadly, it’s true.  I’m not talking about nasty, processed “Pink Slime.”  I’m talking about that lovely “healthy” boneless skinless chicken breast you just bought at Kroger.  It’s been dipped in bleach.  The stuff that will kill you if you drink it.

This is not necessarily the choice of the farmers or the meat packers or the markets.  The federal government requires it.  There are many other ways to keep poultry free from bacteria including NOT mass producing or soaking in electrolyzed water.  We don’t use those methods.  We bathe our meat in chlorine.  Only farmers selling to individuals, not markets, are exempt from this particularly disgusting regulation.

It turns out there are warnings all over the internet in which European and Asian citizens are telling each other to be wary of poultry from America as it’s been “contaminated” by bleach.

I’m officially convinced.  I’ll be finding a local farmer to buy my poultry from from now on.  I will be able to see where the animals lived and I will know how fresh the meat is and I can be fairly sure that it hasn’t been soaked in the same stuff that burns through the fibers in my clothes if I use it too often.  If I was allowed by city ordinance I’d buy some chickens and just raise them myself!

Buying local makes more sense every single day!

18 responses »

  1. Sadly, this doesn’t surprise me. The food industry is a scary place to navigate, unless you know your farmer/grower and the process your food takes before it touches your lips.

    Thanks for the info.

  2. I watched two documentaries: Forks over Knives and Food Inc.
    I’ve been vegetarian for almost a year now.

    • Am starting to lean that way. I never thought I would, but once you know something (like, that there is bleach on your chicken) you just can’t un-know it. It makes it very hard to enjoy a meaty dinner!

  3. When you find that local farmer (who hopefully also kills it and preps it up pretty like the supermarket), let me know and maybe I will give them some business too.

  4. Electrolysed water (“Electrolyzed Water”) (EOW or ECA, also known as electrolyzed oxidizing water, electro-activated water or electro-chemically activated water solution) is produced by the electrolysis of ordinary tap water containing dissolved sodium chloride. Typically, tap water has sufficient dissolved salts for the electrolysis of water. The electrolysis of such salt solutions produces a solution of sodium hypochlorite, which is the most common ingredient in store-bought household bleach. The resulting water is a known surfactant (soap) and sanitizer.

    So electrolyzed water is bleach.

    • Wow! This is more chemistry than I’ve learned since high school. If I’m reading it right, though “sodium hypoclorite” is the most common ingredient in… bleach” is hypoclorite the same as chlorine? I would like to learn more about this. Thank you for the information!

Leave a Reply

