I’m Taking The Pledge

Standard

Join the Mommy Peace Rally! Click the pic to take the pledge today.

I desperately wanted to have a natural child birth. I think it is best. I think it is healthiest.  It didn’t happen for me, but it’s what I believe in.

Also,

I breastfed my babies for a year.

I fed them solids (well… very liquified solids) at about 3 or 4 months.

I buy organic often.

Sometimes we eat poptarts and frozen pizza (usually not at the same time).

I use cloth diapers.

Except when I use disposables (usually at night or when we are traveling).

I have spanked my children.

I use timeouts far more often than spanks.

I am homeschooling my daughter.

I let my baby run around naked.

I make my teenager cover herself up.

These are some of the choices that I have made as a parent.  And let’s face it, parenting is an endless series of choices that starts at the moment of conception (or even earlier).

I consider myself a reasonably intellengent person. Most of my choices are well thought out and researched – like breastfeeding.  I hadn’t really planned on it before I got pregnant but then I learned what I hadn’t known before and decided that was what was best for my family.

Some of my choices are based on my own upbringing.  I’ve always liked poptarts and frozen pizza.  I still do.  It was a treat then and it still is now.  So, even knowing it’s not very (even a little) healthy, it’s a part of our lives.

I’d be willing to bet that most parents make their choices for the same reasons I’ve made mine.  We love our kids.  We want to give them good things.

AND WE DON’T WANT TO BE JUDGED FOR IT!!!

This isn’t the first time I’ve called for a Parenting Peace Rally.  I talked about it here, and here and probably somewhere else.  So it’s an issue that is close to my heart, and today, at Don’t Forget To Feed The Baby I was made aware of the Mom Pledge.  I think it is a great, wonderful, beautiful, fabulous idea! So I’m taking the pledge and I’m sharing it with you.

NO MORE MOMMY WARS!!!

The Mom Pledge

I am a proud to be a mom. I will conduct myself with integrity in all my online activities. I can lead by example.

I pledgeto treat my fellow moms with respect. I will acknowledge that there is no one, “right” way to be a good mom. Each woman makes the choices best for her family.

I believe a healthy dialogue on important issues is a good thing. I will welcome differing opinions when offered in a respectful, non-judgmental manner. And will treat those who do so in kind.

I stand up against cyber bullying. My online space reflects who I am and what I believe in. I will not tolerate comments that are defamatory, hateful or threatening.

I refuse to give those who attack a platform. I will remove their remarks with no mention or response. I can take control.

I want to see moms work together to build one another up, not tear each other down. Words can be used as weapons. I will not engage in that behavior.

I affirm that we are a community. As a member, I will strive to foster goodwill among moms. Together, we can make a difference.

Click on the picture, above, to take the pledge today!

11 responses »

  1. i’ve heard of these mommy wars, but i’ve always had too much on my plate to notice what other moms think, let alone to give a crap. God bless you for not letting the turkeys get you down!

  2. “I’d be willing to bet that most parents make their choices for the same reasons I’ve made mine. We love our kids. We want to give them good things.”

    This? Is The Mom Pledge is a nutshell! So happy you have joined our community! Welcome!

  3. I suspect the mommy wars are generated by to much time and ego. I raised my sons with their first mom, I am their second mom (step-mom) I had custody for most of their lives. She needed me to be a good mom, I need her to be an engaged mom to the extent her health would allow. They needed us both to be part of their lives so they knew we loved them. I retained physical custody even after I divorced their father and their first mother and I continued to share them. She is my friend and my co-parent, we didn’t always agree especially in the early days. We figured it out, because we wanted what was best and we loved them. It has been 28 years now, they are awesome and our friendship endures.

    I love the pledge.

    • I think that’s wonderful! I can only imagine the healthy emotions such a good relationship must have fostered in the children. I think the media stirs a lot of it up (for example, the Time magazine breastfeeding cover, not so long ago) when the truth is that most of us are just too busy being moms to go to battle with other moms.

  4. This is my motto in life. I’m not saying that I’m not judgmental at times but I try to keep it to myself because I’m not proud of it. I’m a big believer in the whole glass house theory. I’m also a big believer that most people are doing their best. We can all improve and every day is an opportunity to do so, but nobody benefits from being looking down upon…unless it is done by their hairdresser, who is covering their roots, but that is an exception.

Leave a Reply

