Laughter is Good For The Soul… And The Body, Too!

Standard

When you live with this little comedian, you don’t have to go far to find a laugh!

This morning on Live! With Kelly I heard Bryant Gumbel mention a study by the American Department on Aging that said that people who laugh a lot, live considerably longer.

I tried, but couldn’t find a copy of that particular study online.  I did, however find this one from USA Today as well as this one from Cancer Treatment Centers of America.

Various research from multiple highly reliable (well… you know) sources I randomly found on Google also say that laughing helps burn calories, tone the muscles of the stomach and back, alleviate breathing issues, improve relationships and more!

I like you guys an awful lot! I want you all to live long, healthy, prosperous lives.  So I’ve provided, for a variety of readers, a variety of things to make you laugh til your coffee shoots out of your nose.

For some of you, all it will take is a funny animal picture.

If you’re like me, It’s babies that make you laugh.

This one is mine – the littlest Hippie

The littlest Hippie again

Or maybe those bizarre signs you see posted crack you up.

Perhaps you’re more of a video person?

Who can resist laughing babies?

Or maybe the Muppets make you mirthful?

Have you ever started laughing, not because the original “joke” was super funny, but because someone else starts laughing so hard they just can’t get control of themselves?

Perhaps you just like to laugh at people falling down, getting hit between the legs and generally slap-sticking their ways through life?

I don’t know why.  I hope it’s not too irreverent, but Jesus humor gets me every time.

A friend posted this one on Facebook. Thanks, Pr. A!

Are you more old fashioned?  You just like a good joke?  Well…

According to newslite.tv,  these jokes are the top 10 funniest ever.

1. A woman gets on a bus with her baby. The bus driver says: ”Ugh, that’s the ugliest baby I’ve ever seen!” The woman walks to the rear of the bus and sits down, fuming. She says to a man next to her: ”The driver just insulted me!” The man says: ”You go up there and tell him off. Go on, I’ll hold your monkey for you.”

2. ”I went to the zoo the other day, there was only one dog in it, it was a shitzu.”

3. ”Dyslexic man walks into a bra”

4. A young blonde woman is distraught because she fears her husband is having an affair, so she goes to a gun shop and buys a handgun. The next day she comes home to find her husband in bed with a beautiful redhead. She grabs the gun and holds it to her own head. The husband jumps out of bed, begging and pleading with her not to shoot herself. Hysterically the blonde responds to the husband, ”Shut up…you’re next!”

5. A classic Tommy Cooper gag ”I said to the Gym instructor “Can you teach me to do the splits?” He said, ”How flexible are you?” I said, ”I can’t make Tuesdays”, was fifth.

6. Police arrested two kids yesterday, one was drinking battery acid, the other was eating fireworks. They charged one – and let the other one off.

7. Two aerials meet on a roof – fall in love – get married. The ceremony was rubbish – but the reception was brilliant.

8. Another one was: Doc, I can’t stop singing the ‘Green Green Grass of Home’. He said: ‘That sounds like Tom Jones syndrome’. ‘Is it common?’I asked. ‘It’s not unusual’ he replied.

9. I’m on a whiskey diet. I’ve lost three days already.

10. A man walks into a bar with a roll of tarmac under his arm and says: ”Pint please, and one for the road.”

If you’re still not laughing, you should go to a doctor.  This is all the medicine I have for today. 

I hope you’ve enjoyed it! 

Share something funny today with someone you love and help make the world a healthier place!

A day without laughter is a day wasted.

-Charlie Chaplin

12 responses »

  1. My favorite is the bike/car one (government incompetence-when not sad or scary can often be funny) , followed closely by the Jesus dragged me one.

  2. stupid signs are my favorite! y’know, even just smiling is good for you. if you use your smile muscles it releases endorphines in your brain and makes you smile more, or even laugh. if you smile at other people, it makes them smile and gives them an endorphine boost. spread the love! 🙂 (and thanks for all the laughing points!)

  3. I giggled and guffawed through the entire post, but the BRB Jesus picture was the one that got me. I laughed out loud – literally. Thank you lazyhippiemama! I feel like I’ve taken a vitamin. 😀

Leave a Reply

