Thank You, Jerry Nelson!

Standard

You know those memories of your childhood that are just a single moment, frozen in your mind like a snapshot?

I remember being banished to the living room to watch Sesame Street with my sister.  It was some solemn occasion when all of the adults needed to talk and we were being…. well… we were being children.

So they sent us out.

I was maybe 7 or 8 and my sister is 5 years older than me.  We were really far past the age for Sesame Street, but alas… those were the days before Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network (at least in our world).

We slumped in front of the TV, no doubt grouchy and pouting, when the song “Doing the Batty Bat” came on and threw us into uncontrolled fits of laughter.  Something about the little bats singing, ‘batty, batty, batty, bat, bat, bat!”  Was just too much for us.

It’s one of my favorite memories.

As an adult, I’ve had the chance to share that and many other great moments from Jim Henson’s many shows with my own children.

That is why I was sad, today, to hear that Jerry Nelson (AKA. Count Von Count, & dozens of other Henson characters) has passed away.

Thank you for the laughs, Jerry.  Thank you for helping my whole generation learn and have fun, and my children’s generation too!  May you enjoy all the singing and dancing and silliness the universe has to offer on the other side! You’ve earned it.

Jerry Nelson (July 10, 1934 – August 23, 2012)
Image from http://www.papermag.com
Click the image to enjoy a smile with Jerry, the Count, and me.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

