Clarification, Encouragement, Recipes, Folk-Medicine and Lusty Bible Verses

Standard

I have a few random notes to share with you today.  They are little things that have been on my mind or that have caught my eye and I thought you might enjoy them.

First, I would like to announce that I am not SPAM!

Apparently, there has been some confusion, somewhere along the line, and WordPress is shipping my comments off to the SPAM can.

In order to clear up any confusion, Spam is “Spiced Ham” made by Hormel corporation.  It is a canned, sort-of  vaguely pork-based product with a bizarre level of saltiness that makes it freakishly addictive even though you know it is horribly bad for you.

This is SPAM.
(image from http://www.ashrinkslife.com)

I am not SPAM.  I promise!  I am a Lazy Hippie Mama from Michigan.  I was made by John and Violet and I am a fresh, sort-of vaguely granola hippie who hopes to have enough wit and wisdom to be a tad addictive AND good for you.

This is me (and my Handsome Hippie Hubby).

If I used to read and comment on your blog often (and I try very hard to visit everyone who visits me) and I suddenly disappeared, you may want to check your SPAM folder and “Un-spam” me.  I didn’t abandon you!

Frankly, I’m not technologically clever enough to figure out how to do much more with my computer than type and hit “send/publish/save/print/etc.”  Only because WordPress is very user-friendly am I able to blog at all!

Moving on….

A friend posted this on Facebook and I absolutely loved it.  I thought I would share:

Also, I came across “100 days of real food” and LOVE the site!  It’s real and simple and well written.  You should go check it out!

Along the same lines, I thought I’d share my family’s new favorite dinner.  We found the recipe in a Rachel Ray magazine about a month ago and it’s fast and fresh and healthy (which you can’t really always say of Ms. Ray’s recipes) and the whole family absolutely loves it!

Click the picture for all the details!

We use all-natural mayo with olive oil, substitute left-over or other grilled chicken for rotisserie, and serve it over romaine since none of us are big watercress fans.  It’s the time of year when we can buy fresh tomatoes and corn from the farmer down the road which makes it 1000 times more wonderfully flavorful (and cheap).  Even the 7-year-old will take “seconds” of this giant bowl of salad.  Yummy!

Next, I hear many of my friends and neighbors are feeling “under the weather.”  Boo for late-summer sniffles and sore throats!  My grandma had a tried and true recipe:

A hot mug of tea (as steaming/boiling hot as you can possibly stand to drink without injury)

with: one shot of whiskey

a tablespoon or honey

a generous wallop of fresh lemon juice.

Drink it up and then bury yourself under the blankets and sweat like a dog all night long.

You’ll feel better by morning!  (Usually).

For added Hippie Health, you can choke down a spoonful of fresh garlic (not powdered or pilled or processed… it’s gotta be the stinky stuff) before, and gnaw on some fresh ginger too.

There actually is some science (not just folklore) to all this.  Tea, honey, lemon, garlic and ginger all have lots of wonderful “anti” properties (antibiotic, antiviral, antiinflamatory (sp?), etc).  Alcohol will knock you out so you can rest, which is what the body needs when it is fighting infection.  Covering up + the heat of the tea will raise your core temperature a degree or two which can help kill germs (yes, fever CAN be a good thing).

Try hard to avoid Tylenol or Motrin (or their generic equivalent) and, especially, over-the-counter cold medicine.

I get it.  Sometimes you’ve got to do what you’ve got to do to get through the day.  I’ve got all those things in my medicine cabinet too.  But if you can get through without it (or, at least, with a minimum amount), there are some pretty conclusive studies that any of those types of drugs can actually suppress your body’s ability to heal itself and make you feel bad for a longer period of time in the end.

Finally, I’ll leave you with this Bible passage I read today.

Some of you may think that the Bible is boring and hard to understand.  And some parts of it are. But today I read Ezekiel 23.  This particular chapter is about 2 sisters who became prostitutes and, the Bible tells us, really enjoyed their work very much. They were very good at what they did and became rather famous throughout the entire Middle East, though they, apparently, had no fondness for Babylonians.  The Bible doesn’t tell us why.

One sister, in particular, recalled her days in Egypt and the Bible tells us this about her:

…she lusted after her lovers, whose genitals were like those of donkeys and whose emission was like that of horses.

-Ezekiel 23:20

Oh-kay then.

*ahem*

Well.

I once took a class on Biblical exegesis but I’m pretty sure that verse needs no further interpretation.

See?  The Bible is NOT always boring.  You just never know what you’re going to get when you sit down to read in the morning.

Oiy.

I gotta go.

Enjoy your day, dear readers.  I’ll meet you back here soon.  🙂

12 responses »

  1. I so agree with you about avoiding the OTC pills like Tylenol and Motrin. I didn’t know that they could eventually suppress your immune system, but I have been avoiding them all my life all the same. I have a theory that not taking ibuprofen helps build up your pain tolerance. I use those OTC pills only as a last resort (i.e. throbbing wont-go-away headache, badly sprained finger, etc). I’m just highly suspicious of putting any of that stuff in your body on a regular basis!

  2. I don’t know about the OTC stuff…I use only what I think is necessary and follow the recommendations of my doctor the best I can….After all, God has been known to work through the hands of others many times. Not saying that every doctor is the Lord’s servant, but some undoubtedly are…..
    Now…Ezekiel…..This OT book makes very good reading. The parables are interesting and make their points easily. And, as you mentioned, sometimes reading these things generates interest in the Bible and encourages additional reading and study. But it is still about the Word, and the lessons that are taught…
    H.

    • Don’t get me wrong… I think much of modern medicine is amazing and miraculous, and I think that it’s wonderful to be able to get relief when we are hurting. But I think people are much to quick to grab for the drugs at every little twitch and twinge. Plus, I think whiskey tastes better than Nyquil.
      Yes, always about the Word. But I’m amused how many verses, like this one, are in there that make the 12 year old inside me giggle like crazy. People who say the Bible is boring have never really read it. There are fantastic tales and mysteries, war and sex and intrigue, love and passion, forgiveness and beauty and anything else you could ever possibly look for in an interesting book.

  3. Even if you were SPAM, I’d like you. And now I’m off to check my Spam folder and hopefully I can figure out how to release you.

  4. I already told you that you were Spam. And then I unSpammed you.
    The Bible verse…niiiiiiiiice.
    And my family would never eat your family’s new fav dish. But we will come over for your family’s old fav dish anytime.

    • That’s how I knew. You and 2 other people all mentioned it. Hopefully I’ll be officially unspammed by WordPress soon.
      Isn’t it, though? The Bible fascinates me. 🙂
      We had our new favorite last night. Old favorite tonight. Best of both worlds!

  5. i’ve always prided myself in avoiding all the OTC pain stuff. then I got Lyme disease about a month ago. with a fever over 102, a headache that almost sent me to the ER and all kinds of other pain – i found myself watching the clock and begging my husband: how many more minutes before i could have my drugs!! don’t get me wrong – i’m all about garlic, honey and a dose of endurance. i guess i just learned there’s a time and a place for everything! (except perhaps “emission…like that of horses!”)

    • I know what you mean. I get migraines. Not often, maybe only 5 or 6 times a year, but I’ve learned that if I do a dose of Tylenol PLUS Motrin at the very first twinge I can keep it at a manageable level. I’m totally willing to put drugs in my body to avoid that misery! I just think people reach for the drugstore shelf a little too quickly/often in our society.

Leave a Reply

