Theological Thursday – Whatever is Lovely…

Standard

Last night, the lesson I taught my youth group was based on Philippians 4:8

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.

 

I feel convicted.

The first draft of this post had 2,000 rambling words.  Most of them were my guilty confessions of listening to Ke$ha and watching the Vampire Diaries.

The truth is that there really is no need for a lengthy essay here.

“Think about such things.”

If I’m thinking about violently murdering bad guys with a pair of ridiculously good-looking vampire brothers I am most assuredly not thinking about that which is pure, lovely, praiseworthy, etc.

If we are being honest with ourselves, we will admit that when we spend our time watching, listening to, or reading things that are full of negativity or immorality or violence (and so on) we begin to dwell on that.  If we dwell on anything long enough our actions will begin to mirror our thoughts.  Even our health can be affected.

As a mother, I have to admit that my choices in entertainment have a huge effect on  my children as well.  It might be funny when a 3-year-old sings, “I’m sexy and I know it.”  But when the 3-year-old turns 10 or 12 or 14 and things she has to be sexy in order to fit in, it’s not so funny any more.

It’s fun to “escape” into fantasy.  That’s why legends and fairy tales have remained popular since the dawn of mankind.  But….

Well…

I have work to do in taking control of my thoughts, and I think that may involve re-thinking the media with which I entertain myself.   I don’t think that we all need to spend our time reading NOTHING BUT THE BIBLE.  At the same time, I think there have to be limits at some point.

Please, share your thoughts on this subject!

 

 

9 responses »

  1. I’m totally with you on this. A few years back, I stopped watching Law and Order when it began to shape my thinking. Now, we don’t even have TV. We watch movies, but we don’t have cable or anything. We’re in the process of deciding whether we want to have TV in Blissfield or not. It’s important for all of us to “think on such things”, but with little ones around, that need is only amplified.

    • I’m just not sure where to draw the line… I think, for me, it lies somewhere in the idea of, “would I be ashamed if my friends/neighbors/parents/pastor/youth group kids caught me watching/listening to this?” If the answer is, “yes,” then I proably have no business letting it be a part of my life.

  2. There is a lot of truth to this. If I watch a lot of reality tv I start to lose hope for the world and I hate the idea that people are being paid to behave badly for an audience. I also feel yucky if I watch things with a lot of violence. I know my limits. I know what affects me. So I think the answer is to look within and be honest with yourself. Your limits might be different than your neighbors. I met a priest who loved to watch Cops. I can’t watch it. Different limits.

  3. We have been growing with Christ in our dependence, knowledge, commitment, prayers, fellowship, sacrifice, involvement, character, walk, conversation, and sharing. In all these ways we must have the proper attitude. Unless we grow in attitude, our growth may produce lots of leaves but no fruit. “Finally, brethren,” Paul said, “whatever things are true, whatever things are honest, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things” (Philippians 4:8). In this lesson we will experience the virtue and praise of thinking on these things.

Leave a Reply

