Theological Thursday – Rest

Standard

Even God rested.  Why don’t you?

Seriously!

I don’t mean that you should be lazy or waste time or whittle your life away staring at the TV, dripping Dorito-dust drool down the front of your shirt.

Be busy.

Work hard.

Go to your employment every day and serve as though your service were unto the Lord Himself!

Clean your house and be a good steward of your earthly treasure.

Care for your children and your spouse and your pets and yourself.

Volunteer in your community.

Sign up for continuing education experiences.

Live life!

But, for goodness sake, take time to rest!

Genesis tells us this:

Thus the heavens and the earth were completed in all their vast array.  

By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all his work. And God blessed the seventh day and made it holy because on it he rested from all the work of creating that he had done.

Being people, we immediately made a whole host of rules about what it meant to take a Sabbath ..  you shouldn’t make your bed! You shouldn’t walk more that 50 steps.  You shouldn’t perform works of healing.

People turned “resting” into a massive project.

Then Jesus came and said, “You missed the point.  It’s not about rules.  Just rest.” (Mark 2:7 – VERY heavily paraphrased.)

So we turned it into the day we go to church.

And let’s face it, if you are really active in your church, there is nothing restful at all about Sunday.  You have to get up early and brew coffee for the fellowship time or teach Sunday School or practice for the choir performance   Then we must attend worship and there may be the potluck afterward or a prayer service in the afternoon….

That’s all lovely and worthwhile, and good, but is it restful?

Not really.

REST.

When we decided to move forward with homeschooling, Handsome Hippie Hubby and I made a deal… we each get one day a month “off.”

There is one day a month when, from midnight to midnight, I don’t have to do anything.  (Same goes for him.)

Nothing. Zip. Zero. Zilch.

I can stay up late or sleep in til noon.  I can lay around and read or hide in my room and watch movies.  I can go shopping with a friend or take a long drive.

It’s my day to rest.

I rest my body and I rest my mind.

I spend an entire day with no one making demands on me.

It’s bliss.

It keeps me sane.

When I’m up on other days with a crying baby at 2:30 am and dealing with a grouchy 3rd grader at noon and up to my elbows in dirty dishes at 6pm and washing poopy diapers at 8pm and still folding laundry at 11….  I can deal with it.

I can, during those times, take joy in having the opportunity to work hard.

I can be thankful for my strong body and my (relatively) sound mind and my family whom I love with all my heart.

Because, every now and then I get to  step away for a day.

It seems pretty clear that God desires us to work hard.

Google, “Bible verses about work” and you’ll get over 5 million results.

Don’t be lazy, but don’t fail to rest.

If you are finding that you are being short with your spouse, snippy with your co-workers, critical of yourself…. if your health is failing or you just can’t focus, perhaps it’s time to make rest part of your routine.

Not just sleep…. rest.

Take time to be refreshed.

Your busy efforts are appreciated by many, but you will do so much more if you follow God’s Law.

And it is a Law, not just a suggestion.

It is the fourth commandment – preceded only by those commandments that are specifically regarding giving honor to God.

Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor, and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, you, or your son, or your daughter, your male servant, or your female servant, or your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates. For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.

You are valuable! Priceless! Irreplaceable!

The world needs you!

The world needs you to be functioning at 100%.

So, take some advice from this Mama and follow God’s rule.

Rest.

7 responses »

  1. Oh joy! You’ve enabled me to enjoy a three hour nap. And then I’ll read fiction beneath my education level.

  2. When Israel came out of Egypt, God reinforced this commandment by providing a double portion of manna on the sixth day and none on the Sabbath every week for 40 years (Exodus 16:26Six days ye shall gather it; but on the seventh day, which is the sabbath, in it there shall be none. See All… , 35; Joshua 5:12And the manna ceased on the morrow after they had eaten of the old corn of the land; neither had the children of Israel manna any more; but they did eat of the fruit of the land of Canaan that year. See All… )—a total of more than 2,000 miracles! The Sabbath command is clearly important to God, and He expects us to obey it. Observing the Sabbath is vital to maintaining a proper relationship with God.

  3. Pingback: A Picture of Contrasts « I'm not stalking you.

Leave a Reply

