My Plan to Avoid Dentists Forever

Standard

toothI’m sure there are zillions of good dentists out there.

No doubt those dedicated men and women truly have a heart to help us all on the road for better health and they long for a world full of straight, white smiles.

Still, I don’t go.

It’s not really a fear… more like…. revulsion.  I hate the idea of someone putting their hands in my mouth.  I shudder at the very idea of the sound of the metal pick scraping against my teeth.  I cringe at the memory of the smell of the drill, as it bores into my body.

Ugh!

I’m getting the shivers just thinking about it!

Here’s the truth that I don’t admit too often.  I hope you don’t judge me too harshly.

The last time I was at the dentist I was a junior in high school.  That appointment was my third in a year.

A few weeks ago I turned 36.

Those three dentist appointments are the only three I’ve ever had.

As of my last appointment I’d never had a cavity.  I’m pretty sure that, in the intervening years, I’ve only had one.

I have one molar that, about 8 years ago, began to hurt terribly.  It was bad.  I was getting to the point where I really couldn’t even bear to eat.  And then, while slurping up some spaghetti at my mother-in-law’s house and trying to chew it with my front teeth I bit down on something hard.  I spit out most of my bad tooth.

The pain was totally gone!

Problem solved.  Dentist avoided.

The piece that remains has never bothered me.

My teeth are crooked and rather stained, due to my serious coffee addiction, but they are strong and healthy and I don’t want anyone going in there, poking around with pointy metal objects and power tools.  They might mess something up!

I think that, for the most part, my strong teeth are just good luck.  My genetic cookie just crumbled that way.  I brush but that’s about it.  I can’t say that I have any magic secret.  But…

I have believed for years that teeth can heal.

I didn’t have any logical reason except that I figured if bones can heal, teeth should be able to as well.  As it turns out, I’m not crazy!

My awesome chiropractor posted this article from the Healthy Home Economist on Facebook today that is all about curing cavities with a healthy diet.

I love when science backs up my random beliefs!  I believe I may be willing to give up sugar (sometimes) forever (for a while) and even drink green smoothies (occasionally) if it means that I never have to go to the dentist again and I get to keep my original teeth well into my old age.

A fair trade, I say.

That’s my plan and I’m sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

