Theological Thursday – Is God Mad at Us?

Standard

angrygod1We all pick and choose which parts of the Bible we focus on.

The Bible is a collection of such immensely profound books that it can be overwhelming.  Add to that thousands of years of ancient tradition and interpretation and it can be hard to know where to start.

By my way of thinking (and, if you disagree, please feel free to comment so we can learn from one another!)  it makes sense to start with the gospels, that is, the books of “Matthew, Mark, Luke and John” since those are the four books that relate the actual life, words and teachings of Jesus.  If I am going to call myself a follower of Jesus, that seems like the best place to start…..

Read the rest at The Curious Theologian

 

Whoops! I almost forgot it was Thursday!  Thanks for your patience while I work out how best to manage two blogs.  I hope you enjoy them both!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?  Why not follow LazyHippieMama on WordPress, by email or Facebook to get all the updates.  If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve!

 

4 responses »

  1. I wouldn’t know how to fully understand Jesus’ teachings, life, and death without the context of the Old Testament. There are so many contexts and connections I would miss without both. There are many ways to read Scripture. I have a friend who is reading the Bible in chronological order which is very different from how the Books in the Bible are arranged. For a while, I was reading the archaeologists Bible which is fascinating. Some folks read commentary Bibles that tell them how to think about certain passages or how to interpret them (I hate those because I find lots of fault). Growing up, reading Scripture was a hodgepodge of passages all mixed up until High School when I read the Bible through cover to cover. Now that I have been through seminary, I read Scripture differently. For example, since the author of Luke is the same as ACTS, I like to read Luke and then ACTS all together for some perspective on what that Gospel writer is doing. Anyway, it’s fun to read Scripture but I can see how people might be frustrated with it.

    • The archaeologists Bible does sound interesting! I’m sure that, with seminary training, you have a unique idea of the context in which the different books were written. For example, why the letter to the Hebrews is very different from the letter to the Romans. They were written to people living in very different belief systems. Some of that becomes clear with reading and study, but I think a lot of people give up before they get that far. OR (much worse) they just pick out a handful of passages that fit their worldview and neglect the rest.

  2. I have read several different Bibles, but have also read Talmud and Torah. There are differences not only in the Books but in the interpretations and meanings. The 613 Laws, how they apply to the Christian Church versus how they apply in Jewish Life.

    The New Testament is only part of the scriptures written by the prophets and eye witnesses of the Ministry of The Christ. I have read them as they stand and with the other books, not included in the Bible for context.

    • I have read the Bible frontways, backways and upside down (not really, but it could be interesting) but I’ve only just begun to explore they Talmud and the apocrypha. They really do shed a whole new light on what Jesus believed and lived and taught. I think that the modern Christian church would do well to include more of these histories in their teachings. I think that when people, such as yourself, read and study so extensively they come to a strong and sure confidence in their faith, just like you seem to have…. more connection with God, less religious dogma.

Leave a Reply

