Standard

The Curious Theologian

Everybody’s talking about the pope.  Since I’m a protestant his resignation doesn’t have any huge direct influence on my faith (I’ll save the discussion about the social and political ramifications for another day.  Or maybe for never.) but it has made me think.

I love Catholic worship.  I think there is something so extraordinary beautiful in the pomp and circumstance of Mass.  I get carried away in the beauty of the robes and the incense and the gorgeous candlesticks and the life-like statues and the ornate buildings.  It fills me with wonder.  It makes me feel small and meek and humble.  It fills me with “awe.”

I think that is missing from protestant worship.

Of course, that’s a very general statement.  I have attended protestant worship services that were very much filled with the awe-inspiring Spirit of God.  But as a rule, we protestants, especially in modern-day America, think of…

View original post 849 more words

About Elizabeth in MI

I'm a married mama with 2 beautiful step children, 2 from my own belly, and the best husband in the universe! I work part time at my church as a secretary and youth director and I truly enjoy 3 hour naps and reading fiction beneath my education level. Write me a note, any time at lazyhippiemama@hotmail.com. I'd love to hear from you.

One response »

  1. I agree, there is a huge tendency to dumb God down when He is extraordinary and mind-blowing. I think that the idea of Jesus being our friend seems unbiblical really. We’re God’s children, so as our Father He is in a different role than friend, it’s a role of authority and protection. Great post!

Leave a Reply

