A Little Help, In The Middle of the Night (AKA – Stuff to Make You Laugh)

Standard

Chubby Hippie Baby has croup.  Eesh.

image from edge-of-the-sky.blogspot.com

image from edge-of-the-sky.blogspot.com

At this point, he just sounds sort-of hoarse, like he got little over-enthusiastic screaming at a rock concert or something.  The first night, however, was very scary.  He truly couldn’t get any air and we ended up spending the night at the children’s hospital.

The thing about croup is that kids don’t really seem too bad during the day but, for some reason, nature has played a sick-twisted joke on exhausted parents everywhere, because as soon as the sun sets the symptoms of coughing and wheezing and generally sounding like one is drowning kick in.  Of course, babies don’t rest well while coughing and wheezing and feeling like they’re drowning and, as any parent can tell you, if baby doesn’t sleep, no one gets to sleep.

Being awake around the clock for 4 days in a row gives one a fair amount of time to think… though, admittedly that thinking process becomes progressively more erratic sometime after day 2.

At 4am today, for example, with the 914th episode of Blue’s Clues that I’ve seen in the past few days playing quietly in the background, I thought about how I could help my fellow up-all-night-for-various-reasons parents.  I decided that, if I could have anything at that very moment I would wish for hot coffee and something to make me laugh (for in laughing we cast aside the other choice… crying).

I can’t give you coffee.  Because…  you know…  you are there and I am here.  BUT, I can give you justification to drink more coffee.  I once learned that drinking vast amounts of coffee will, over time, lead you down the path of immortality.  John Tesh told me so.  So, stop hesitating and go pour yourself a cup o’ Joe.  It does the body good!

MM900254455

As for laughter… here you go… 5 things that will make you laugh.

1)  The banana slicer.

A friend of mine recently posted this  link to Amazon where one can apparently buy a tool specifically designed for that oh-so-difficult task of slicing bananas.  Read the reviews.  You will laugh, I promise.

I give you the Hutzler 571 Banana Slicer

I give you the Hutzler 571 Banana Slicer

2) The Backin’ Up song.

This just cracks me up, and I can’t help but admire the cleverness, creativity and available spare time of the people who made the re-mix.  But be warned.  This song will randomly pop into your head and stay there for weeks on end for the rest of eternity once you watch this.

3) What Celebrities Would Look Like If They Moved To Ohio.

Someone emailed this PDF file to me at work and I laughed so hard I cried.

What_Celebrities_Would_Look_Like_If_They_Moved

4) Statue attacks.

I think it’s just the idea of Ronald McDonald slapping the crap out of somebody that really gets me.  I bet he ordered the salad.

Image from oddfunny.com

Image from oddfunny.com

5) These pranks.

This is one of those things that build and build and gets funnier and funnier the longer you watch.  I think the Jesus humor is the funniest because, for some reason, Jesus humor is almost always hysterical to me.

So there you go.  I hope it helps.  Hang in there, sleepy moms and dads.  You’re not alone and you will get to sleep again…. some day. I think. Dear God, I hope so.    In the meantime, just keep laughing.

BUT WAIT! THERE’S MORE!

6) No More News

Handsome Hippie Hubby said, “You have to include the “no more news” video! It’s hysterical!”  And so it is.  Enjoy!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on WordPress, by email or Facebook to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve!

6 responses »

  1. Thanks for the giggles,I needed them today.That croup is horrible stuff.Our daughter Alisha used to get it when she was little.So scary.We got better as she got older though,it seems just when she was at her worst we would load her up in the car to take her to ER and by the time we got there the worst of it would be over.Seem the air outside helped.After that we took turns bundling her up and sitting in the car when it was the worst.She is 21 now so I guess we didn’t kill her.

  2. Thanks for the laugh. I hope you and Chubby Hippie Baby get some rest. Although I may never sleep again after viewing the Ohio Celebrities. Something about that Brittany Spears…

Leave a Reply

