Insanely Scrumptious (Healthy?!? Easy?!?) Chocolate Pudding

Standard

It’s fast (less than 5 minutes start to finish).

It requires no cooking and creates minimal dirty dishes.

It’s so much healthier than the stuff from the store it’s ridiculous.

OK… it’s got honey, which is a form of sugar, but it’s not processed and it’s dessert.  And we all need a little sweetness in our lives, for goodness sake! And the main ingredient is a vegetable! Or is it a fruit?  Either way it’s not poly-sorbate-mono-unsaturated-lord-only-knows-what.  And it’s not high fructose corn syrup, either.

It’s so chocolaty-delicious you will want to stick your face in the bowl and lick it clean.

Yes. It really is that good.

Yes. It really is that good.

If you are skeptical, here are my food-judging qualifications:  I really love to eat.  I totally acknowledge the value of “real” food (no artificial or refined  ingredients) and I fully believe that organic, local food is best.  That said, I find both Doritos and those little chocolate donnettes in a wax bag from the gas station to be nearly irresistable.

Long story short, I’m making strides toward eating healthier but I am not the standard by which you should model your diet plan.

BUT…

This recipe is a meeting of the worlds.  It is junk food…. made from fresh vegetables (fruits?).  Which makes it not really junk, right?  That has got to be what heaven is like.

The original can be found at Mind, Body, Green.  This is a great site that I’ve only just recently discovered but have thoroughly enjoyed.

I made a few changes, because I’m not a huge fan of maple syrup and I found their version a bit heavy-handed on the cinnamon (though Handsome Hippie Hubby liked it that way).  The recipe says it’s for 3 people.  Make extra.  You’re going to want it!

Let me know how you like it!

CHOCOMOLE

*  1 avocado

* 3 TBSP cocoa powder

* 1/2 tsp vanilla

* 1/4 cup of honey

* 3/4 tsp cinnamon

* 2 TBSP soy or almond milk

Toss it all in a blender or food processor and run it until it’s smooth.

Enjoy it plain or use it as a dip for strawberries or other fresh fruit.

*UPDATE*

The original post called the pudding “vegan.”  It occurred to me, in the middle of the day while I was folding laundry (why do thoughts pop up at such random times?) that, since I used honey instead of maple syrup it wasn’t really vegan any more.  But it’s still yummy! If you’re a purist, stick to the original.  Sorry about that!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on WordPress, by email or Facebook to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve!  

7 responses »

  1. I saw this when I was reading you this morning but didn’t want to write until I made it. I had all the ingredients in my kitchen and tried it out. It is really good. I can’t wait to try it on the grandkids and my mother. Thanks LHM

Leave a Reply

