Remembering The Fallen Soldiers And Believing In A Better Future

Standard
My Dad: a brave soldier who inspires me to imagine a world of peace.

My Dad: a brave soldier who inspires me to imagine a world of peace.

Throughout history men and women have stood strong and fought valiantly against tyranny.  I give thanks for these brave souls who were unwavering, even unto death, in their principles!

I am thankful beyond any words I know to live in a time and place where I can explore and share my ideas about religion, politics, business, and anything else that comes to mind.

I am thankful to live in a land that is blessed with wild prosperity and health.  Yes, even in these times we are wildly prosperous compared to the vast majority of people who have ever lived on earth.

I pray for special blessings on those men and women who have fought for our freedoms.  I pray for every parent who has lost a child to war, for every spouse who has lost their partner, for every sibling who has lost their closest childhood playmate, for every child who has lost a parent.  May God draw them close to Him and shower them with special mercies in their grief.

I pray for the men and women who have gone to do battle as their patriotic duty and come home bearing scars on their bodies and on their hearts.  Some of those heal, but many do not.  May they be surrounded by light and love the rest of their days.

Most of all, though, I pray for an end to war.

Since the dawn of man we have shed our brothers’ blood.  We have killed one another over land, over resources, over power, over religion, over nothing at all outside of sheer hatred.  Our earth is soaked in the blood of war.

When Jesus answered the question, "who is my neighbor?" he used an example of the Samaritan, even though there was no nation more despised by his audience than Samaria.

When Jesus answered the question, “who is my neighbor?” he used an example of the Samaritan, even though there was no nation more despised by his audience than Samaria.

I pray that my children may see the day the killing ends.

I pray that we learn to defeat violence with love.

I pray that we learn to overcome hatred with respect.

I pray that we learn to give thanks for what we have and share our abundance so that our neighbor has no need to steal from us.

I pray for the day when memorial day is a remembrance only of ancient history because the children of God no longer kill one another but, instead, love as Jesus loved.

May that day come quickly and may we embrace and celebrate the gift of peace.

Publication1

2 responses »

  1. A quote that may be of interest from Charles Spurgeon: ” I always rejoice to find a soldier a Christian, but I always mourn to find a Christian a soldier, for it seems to me that when I take up Christ Jesus, I hear one of His Laws, “I say unto you, resist not evil. Put up your sword into its sheath; he that takes the sword shall perish by the sword.” The followers of Christ in these days seem to me to have forgotten a great part of Christianity.”
    http://spurgeonwarquotes.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks for the great link! All my life I believed it was good and right and just to fight for your country. At some point in the past year or so I started seeing the truth of “an eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.” How many wars have dragged on and on, how much blood has been shed, how many hearts have been broken because you wronged me so I attacked you. Then you fought back and someone else stepped in. Then you got your friends to fight my friends and on and on it goes. What if we followed Jesus’ advice and turned the other cheek? What if, when we are wronged, we just pray for the wrong-doer and carry on with our lives of good service, trusting God to move with justice? It has been an intellectual and emotionally challenging journey for me but, I have to agree with Spurgeon. “The Christian soldier hath no gun and no sword, for he fighteth not with men.”

Leave a Reply

