You Might Be a LAZY Hippie If…

Standard

Being a modern-day hippie is harder than you may realize.

There are cloth diapers to be washed and hung on the line. Do you know how much planning is required to make a GMO free meal? Any good hippie has to spend some time signing political petitions and the children aren’t going to teach themselves how to hand-weave a winter scarf out of old t-shirts!  Looking up green smoothie recipes on Pinterest can keep a person up way past their bed-time and don’t even get me started on all the things you need to make from coconut oil!

It’s exhausting.

However… it’s a fact that there are lazy people among the hippies (I’m not saying I’M a lazy hippie… oh wait… it’s in the URL. Dang. Guess the secret is out!).  Here’s how to know if you might be a lazy hippie.

You Might Be a LAZY Hippie If:

* You’ve ever been really excited to find out that a wild plant in your yard is edible. You didn’t have to plant it, you don’t have to go to the grocery store and now you have an excuse to not cut that part of the lawn.

This is not a weed! There is no need to spend hours of your life rooting it out of your lawn. It's one of the most nutritious salad greens in the world! It also makes a really beneficial (totally disgusting) tea.

This is not a weed! There is no need to spend hours of your life rooting it out of your lawn. It’s one of the most nutritious salad greens in the world! It also makes a really beneficial (totally disgusting) tea.

* You’re just a little happy when your area issues a water use warning because it means you have a good reason not to wash the dishes. “I’m saving water! It’s good for the planet, don’t you know?”

* One of the top 3 reasons why you chose to nurse your babies was “I don’t want to wash bottles.”

* You’re aware that letting your child be naked outside has the triple benefit of airing out their tender tush, getting them lots of Vitamin D and saving you from having to wash their clothes/diapers.

Publication1

* You’ve served raw vegan food for dinner because it’s healthy and humane but also because it meant you didn’t have to cook OR wash pots and pans afterward.

* You’ve allowed a “family bed” because carrying a child up the stairs at midnight just seemed like more work than it was worth.

* You’ve been just a little excited about an “ozone alert” because it meant you had an excuse NOT to drive the car to town and run errands.

"Oh, sorry! I can't go today. I'm saving the earth, you see."

“Oh, sorry! I can’t go today. I’m saving the earth, you see.”

* You own a pet goat. You say it’s to save the gas required to cut the grass but mostly it’s just because you hate cutting the grass.

It will also make you happy, which helps create world peace. Double bonus!

It will also make you happy, which helps create world peace. Double bonus!

*  You’ve failed to pick up your animal’s poop and rationalized that it’s OK because it makes great fertilizer.

*  You’ve wondered where the line is between fermenting your food and failing to clean out your fridge.

Are you a lazy hippie?  Don’t worry. You’re not alone. Share in the comments what lazy things you do to save the planet, promote world peace and raise productive citizens.

Image: source

Image: source

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on WordPress, by email, Facebook or Twitter to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve!  

About Elizabeth in MI

I'm a married mama with 2 beautiful step children, 2 from my own belly, and the best husband in the universe! I work part time at my church as a secretary and youth director and I truly enjoy 3 hour naps and reading fiction beneath my education level. Write me a note, any time at lazyhippiemama@hotmail.com. I'd love to hear from you.

16 responses »

  1. I remember when I was little my dad making dandelion wine out of those little weeds. We loved the little yellow flowers and always stained our hands picking bouquets for our mother. Thanks for bringing that memory back to me today.

  2. you can make jelly out of dandelion blossoms too. tastes a lot like honey.
    as far as something lazy we’ve done… I dont know,I can’t think well when you put me on the spot like that!

      • Yes, that’s how I know it tastes a lot like honey silly. You DO need about a zillion flowers to get a half dozen pints though. I did it when the big kids were little and we filled their two sand pails full of blossoms. I think we used about 3/4 of what we picked. At the time we lived next to a vacant lot that rarely got mowed and was a carpet of yellow in late spring.

    • Oh my! You are too funny! No goat milk for us. Alas, he is a free Microsoft clipart (or some such thing) goat. We aren’t zoned for farm animals and haven’t found our little piece of paradise just yet. When we do though, I hope our goats are goofy and smile at us!

  3. Letting my girls pick out their own ridiculous outfits from a very young age. I pretend it’s my way of letting them express themselves but really it’s just me being lazy. I’ve had so many moms tell me how impressed they are by my willingness to let my girls express themselves so freely. Hahaha.

  4. I guess I’m a lazy hippie ‘cos I forage in my jungly backyard all the time! No shame in it whatsoever, dandelion fritters are completely delicious and actually addicting! In fact I want some now, but there’s no more dandelions in sight! See, who needs lawn company? You eat the weeds, you get rid of them! Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

