October Daily: If You Cannot Find a Way Out, Look Up!

Standard

Day 13 – Comment on this: If you cannot find a way out, look up.

I would say, not only do I believe in this statement, but I would take it a step further and say we ought not be focused on trying to find a way out at all. We ought to constantly, consciously, direct our attention upward.

When I was learning to drive I consistently took curves and turns too sharply.  My instructor told me, “it’s because you’re focused on the curve of road, directly in front of the car.  Look further ahead. Don’t look at where you are.  Focus your attention onto where you want to be.”  When I did so, the car “miraculously” stayed right in the center of the lane.

Likewise, life is a road rife with twists and turns and obstacles of every sort.  If one focuses their attention on the obstacles surrounding them in the immediate moment it becomes easy to panic or despair.

On the other hand, I have found that when I direct my energy toward being in Communion with That Which Is Above – if I focus on the ultimate goal of being in harmony with Source, with The One who created me (and created you, too, as a special, beautiful, important part of a greater whole) the hazards blur into the periphery and I end up traveling life’s paths exactly in the center of the lane.

It is only when I stop “looking up” and try to take matters into my own hands and use my own, fallible, wisdom that my wheels skid off the road.

The Bible promises that, “in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  (Romans 8:28)

I don’t think we are ever promised that “all things will be good,” or that “everything will feel good,” or that “at every moment you will see nothing but good.”  But we can be confident that there is a plan, that we are part of it, and that the whole big crazy thing is in the hands of One that knows infinitely more than we do and has our (and everyone else’s) best interests at heart.  So why waste time and energy fretting about “finding a way out,” when you can just “look up” at the indescribable beauty that surrounds us (and incorporates us!) and continue to move forward in faith?

By all means, look up!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on WordPress, by email, Facebook or Twitter to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

