$3 + 1 hour = an awesome robot costume! (easy instructions)

Standard

If you don’t have a costume for your child yet, don’t worry! If you have $3 (or an existing abundance of duct tape) I can show you how to make a great robot costume in about one hour!

On Friday of this week we were invited to attend a Halloween event on Saturday.  Because we never plan more than 2 minutes ahead, I still hadn’t gotten or made costumes for my kids (what?! I have days and days before Halloween!).

I found a ghost for Toddler-saurus Rex.  It had belonged to one of his cousins in Halloween past and, with a few nips and tucks, would be just right for him.

Oooo! Scary ghost!

little boy is a ghost for Halloween

Sweet Hippie Daughter, on the other hand, has outgrown everything in the dress-up bin.

“We need to go to the store and buy a costume,” she said.

“That’s not going to happen.” I told her.  “You have clothes and leotards, hats and scarves and makeup.  There’s a whole cabinet full of fabric. There are masks in the dress-up box.  Figure something out.”

She sat and pouted.  “I need you to help me. I don’t know what to do.”

“I will help you with the details, if you want, but you need to come up with something on your own. Go figure it out.”

She stomped off.

5 minutes later she was back with a pair of ratty sweatpants, a stocking cap, a roll of duct tape and a gleam in her eye.  “I have an idea!

As promised I helped with the details of how to construct, but the ideas were all hers and I thought she did a great job! Every part of the costume was made from items she found lying around the house.  We did run out of duct tape and so we had to spend $3 on a second roll but I was totally OK with that. (You will need about 1 large roll of tape to make a costume this size – about a girl’s size 8.)

At the event, she was a huge hit and I was one proud mama!

Here’s what we did:

smiley face in a white stocking cap.

 

The hat for the robot costume is partially finished.

 

Little girl in a robot costume hat

The hat is all done! We used a pencil, eraser down and tip up, with a ball of foil on top, for the antenna.

102_3336

how to make a robot costume from duct tape

We started on the back sides of the pants and worked our way up the legs, one strip at a time. When the leg was covered we flipped the pants over and covered the front.

102_3338

pants for a duct tape robot

Finish the hem by folding one piece under to make a clean edge. We left the stretch waist uncovered to make it easier to get them on and off. This was covered by her shirt.

102_3340

duct tape robot instructions

We did the shirt pretty much the same way as the pants, except we didn’t cover the shoulders or arms right away.

 

instructions for arms on a duct tape robot

I had her put the shirt on to do the arms. We left the shoulders and elbows un-taped so that she would have a more comfortable range of motion.

I had her put the shirt on to do the arms. We left the shoulders and elbows un-taped so that she would have a more comfortable range of motion.

 

back of the duct tape robot

We cut the shirt, straight up the back, to get it on and off easily. When we went the actual even I “sealed” it again with a single piece of tape.

 

We cut the shirt, straight up the back, to get it on and off easily. When we went the actual event I “sealed” it again with a single piece of tape.

the shirt for the duct tape robot is all done. It just needs some embellishments!

duct tape robot is all done

All done! Now for the fun part…

adding buttons and wires to the duct tape robot

She added a “power box” with a bottle cap switch and wires coming out and a few “programming buttons” made from bottle caps and wooden building blocks – all duct taped onto the shirt.

She added a “power box” with a bottle cap switch and wires coming out and a few “programming buttons” made from bottle caps and wooden building blocks – all duct taped onto the shirt.

The glasses were the finishing touch.

The glasses were the finishing touch.

The glasses were the finishing touch.

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on WordPress, by email, Facebook or Twitter to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

 You may also enjoy:

Knights for Kingdom Rock

The Duct Tape Warriors – How to build a knight out of duct tape

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

DIY Toddler Swing From Recycled Materials – As seen on Pinterest Fail!

 

 

 

 

18 responses »

  1. unfortunately my girl inherited my imagination, and if I made her come up with her own idea of what to be, I’m afraid she would just go as herself. 😦 but maybe I’m just not as encouraging as I could be… Your robot looks great though! you’re daughter should be very proud of herself!

    • Haha! She did say, “I’m glad I came up with this. My back up plan was to wear regular clothes and go as an American.” LOL

      • Haha, that’s so funny! Still very imaginative! lol

        I’m so thankful for our neighbor. She’s a retired teacher (who was never able to have kids of her own) and she loves our kids! She has them over once a week to do crafts (yay, they get to do crafts and I don’t have to come up with the ideas, nor clean up the mess!) and she gets them little trinkets from the thrift store occasionally. The other day she sent them home with costumes (or the makings of anyway).

  2. Pingback: {DIY} Refashioned Toddler Fox Costume | All Glorious

    • I don’t have crafty/bakey things to share very often. I confess. Many weeks I just stalk the Homeacre hop to steal other people’s ideas because I have so few of my own! hahaha! Thank you though!

  3. please can i ask how well was your girl able to walk in this costume. because i make i will be wearing for an fundraising event knowing my luck my friends will have me it for about 3 hours. as they knowing if i child will do it. then i will. all of my fundraising ideas our done form a child’s eyes. so far £27.000 for for child’s charitys

    • I’m so glad you like it! She had a pretty easy time walking. I think the key is to start with pants that are nice and loose with wide legs. We used a similar concept for an alien costume for my son and used tighter pants. We ended up slicing the backs and taping them shut. It still worked but it was not nearly as easy to move in.

Leave a Reply

