Four Ideas For Getting Candy Out of Your House BESIDES Throwing It Away

Standard

I just learned a horrifying fact.  There are people who throw away perfectly good candy!

Matt LeBlanc shocked

I know, right?!

OK. I am 100% in favor of real food.  We have gone (almost) 100% “no-GMO” in our house and even started our own organic garden.  I don’t let my kids have foods with artificial colors or flavors. That said…

It’s candy.

It’s not “food.” You don’t shouldn’t eat it every day. And people (and by people, I mean me) spent good, hard earned money to buy that for your adorably costumed trick-or-treater!

Do NOT throw the candy away!

People worked to harvest that chocolate, the peanuts, the sugar cane, etc (not going into the human rights stuff.  That’s a post for another day).  Machines were run on fossil fuels to produce it. Trucks, trains and boats burned up gas to get it to the stores.  And you’re going to use all of those resources (plus… did I mention the money that I spent on that ridiculously priced candy?) to take up space in your local landfill?!

"I'm freaking out! FREAKING OUT!"

“I’m freaking out! FREAKING OUT!”

On one thread I read someone commented, “I view candy as poison, and it is to be disposed of. (Most certainly not given to people I care about.)”

If that could have been you, all I can say is you need candy more than anyone I’ve ever met.  And maybe a drink as well.

OK. So, throwing it away is not an option, right?  But… still… no one wants to gain 40 lbs from late night noshing on their kids’ Halloween leftovers.  How to get it out of the house?

Here are four ideas that will not only keep your waistline safe, but make our world just a little bit of a happier place as well:

1) Send it to the soldiers.Operation Gratitude will happily accept your donated Halloween candy and send it to the troops who, Lord knows, could use a few treats!  Click the link to visit their page and get all the details.

2) Donate it to your local food pantry, homeless shelter or Knights of Columbus Christmas collection. I realize that candy has no nutritional value, but when life is at it’s worst, doesn’t a little chocolate feed the soul?  And parents visiting food pantries are often thrilled to receive items they can stash away to be put in Christmas stockings.

3) Use it to bake some sweet treats and take them to a lonely neighbor, a senior center, a nursing home or any other place where people may be feeling forgotten.  Here is a link to a ton of “use your candy” recipes. Here is a fabulous-looking cake recipe.  Here’s another.  Don’t just drop them off. Stay to share them and visit.  After all, it really isn’t about the cookies and cakes.

4) Use your candy, along with some other items, to make up these “blessing bags.”  Keep these in your car and the next time you see a homeless person you will have something truly helpful to share with them.

Do you have other ideas?  Please share them in the comments!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama  by email, Facebook or Twitter to get all the updates?

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

 

 

9 responses »

  1. All good ideas here! I especially like the idea of sending it to the troops- no one needs a sweet treat more than they do. We didn’t end up with any leftover candy (toddlers are inefficient trick or treaters!), so I don’t have this problem just yet.

    • You have to whip them into shape so they can cover maximum ground! Hahaha! Just kidding. 🙂 I agree with you completely about the soldiers. I’ve heard from several that little things, like a piece of candy, can make a huge difference to them.

    • I know! LOL I really do get what people are saying… it’s “junk” food in it’s very junkiest form. But still… just throwing it away seems so wasteful to me.

  2. That picture made me laugh out loud in the library! This was the first Halloween where we had to deal with candy. (My son just turned 3 and suddenly became FASCINATED by it.) We let him keep a bit to eat this week, and true confession time, I ate the rest while I was studying after he went to bed. I told him The Great Pumpkin took it. (We did the whole swap it out for a little toy which was super fun.) BUT, these ideas are awesome–thank you! I will look into the Operations of Gratitude option next year. (If the “The Great Pumpkin” doesn’t make a surprise appearance again.)

  3. Haha! That’s great! I once convinced my daughter than a package of no-bake cookies was left open on the counter and they evaporated. She is now VERY careful about sealing things tightly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

