Being A Mom

Standard

I was thinking this morning about all the things I’ve done in life.  I’ve had a great ride so far.  I’ve traveled and adventured, loved and lost, been wild and crazy and found my center again.  I feel pretty good about that. By far… more than flying to Eastern Europe or driving across the US in a rickety old car… more than working as an executive in a board room or a camp counselor in the forest… more than snorkeling over a coral reef miles from anywhere in the Caribbean Sea or riding horseback in the mountains of Colorado…  motherhood has been a grand adventure.

Do you know what it’s like?

These are the pictures I find on my computer since children came into my world.

These are the pictures I find on my computer since children came into my world.

It’s loving someone so much that sometimes, when you look at them, your eyes well up with tears just because it’s more emotion than your heart can hold and it has to overflow in some way or you’ll simply burst…  and then wondering how much trouble you’d get in if you just locked them in the dog’s crate and went outside by yourself for 10 minutes because if you have to listen to them whine about one more thing your head might explode.

It’s wanting to give every single thing you own and every bit of your very self to another person so that they can have the very best possible life… and then hiding behind your bedroom door to eat a piece of candy because it’s the last one and you just don’t want to share it.

See that person photo-bombing the head-shot I was trying to take for my Google+ profile? Yeah... he's about to throw himself down on the keyboard and erase the last 25 minutes worth of work I did on my blog.

See that person photo-bombing the head-shot I was trying to take for my Google+ profile? Yeah… he’s about to throw himself down on the keyboard and erase the last 25 minutes worth of work I did on my blog.

It’s spending an entire 24 hour period trying to convince someone that they need to eat their vegetables so that they can be healthy and strong and then snarfing a piece of toast over the kitchen sink the next morning because you don’t have time to sit down and have a proper breakfast.

Being a mom is getting really excited and cheering like a rabid sports fan at the Super Bowl when someone pees in the potty.

What's happening in the back half of the car that prompted those facial expressions?  I don't even want to know.

What’s happening in the back half of my car that prompted those facial expressions? I don’t even want to know.

Being a mom is spending 4 hours sitting in the freezing cold rain at a football game to see your kid play for 1 minute and 36 seconds and then raving about how fabulous they were.

Being a mom is crawling into bed at 8:45 pm, so tired you’re not sure you have the strength to pull your own socks off.

Motherhood can be spending 45 minutes putting people in coats and shoes, herding them out to the car, strapping them all in, unstrapping them all, and loading them into shopping carts and strollers so that you can buy a package of toilet paper and a loaf of bread.

What?!

What?!

When you’re a mom, there’s a good chance that most of your Christmas presents will be drawn in crayon or made with macaroni noodles.

It’s possible that every shirt you own will have one spit-up stained shoulder.

There’s a high likelihood that your tummy will be criss-crossed with stretch marks and your formerly perky breasts will start to sag.

Odds are good that your prettiest designer clothes will collect dust while you crawl around in blanket forts in stretchy pants and sneakers.

But…

Sometimes…

Being a mom means that this person to whom you’ve given a piece of your very inmost heart will turn to you and wrap their arms around you and say, “I love you, Mom.”

So… basically… being a mom is the greatest thing ever.

me and kids

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama  by email, Facebook or Twitter to get all the updates?

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

 

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

