What Do You Think Wednesday – Apathy (Does Anybody Care?)

Standard

question-mark-nothingWho cares about apathy?  Well… that’s what I want to know.

This particular installment of “What Do You Think Wednesday” is a little selfish.  I’ll explain why in a minute, but here’s the question:

Do you think that the human race is becoming more apathetic?  If so, what indication do you see of that?

ap-a-thet-ic

(ap-u-thet-ik)

adjective

1.  Having or showing little or no emotion: apathetic behavior.

2. Not interested or concerned; indifferent or unresponsive: an apathetic audience.

The reason I say this is selfish is because I’m working on a project.  Remember when I said I was going to write a book in 30 days?

I did it! (Yes. I’m blatantly bragging.)

Here it is:  50,000+ words that have been bouncing around in my skull for 20 years.

Here it is: 50,000+ words that have been bouncing around in my skull for 20 years.

 I’m pretty darn proud of my book, too, even though the first draft is so rough you could use it for sandpaper. It has a beginning, a middle, and an end and there is a theme that runs all through it.  I figure the rest is just a matter of editing.

But… The main theme of the story has to do with what happens when people become truly apathetic. I know what I think that would look like, but I’m curious about hat you think.  And so, in order to help me move my project forward I’m wondering if you’ll share your thoughts.

I’d love to get some other viewpoints.

Thanks for caring enough to comment!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama  by email, Facebook or Twitter to get all the updates?

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

11 responses »

  1. That’s great you were able to accomplish your goal 🙂 I feel that people are so exposed to so much tragedy that they view it as something that is passe. Its really sad!

  2. Wouldn’t that just be a world full of zombies? It’s hard to imagine a world where everyone was truly apathetic. I mean not even anger? What would drive anyone to do anything if not for emotion. We’d be living like animals, our only actions driven by instinct, hunger, cold, physical pain, and thirst. Strike that, even animals love. Our species would go extinct because without love, why would we want to care for a screaming, demanding infant?

  3. I’m not really sure if I think that the human race is becoming apathetic. In some ways, yes, I think that we see and hear so many things that need to change but we rarely do anything about it. But I’d like to believe that we have become desensitized and not that we have stopped caring or feeling anything about it. (not that it’s necessarily any better). I do see glimmers of hope though, when people come together to make positive changes for the world or to help others.

  4. I think people want to care or feel like they should because of social perception, but sadly I think many are so busy focusing on themselves that the world has become more apathetic. I think for many they want to care but don’t know how to. And in this day and age of social media there are so many “demands” on a person’s soul to care and get involved that people tend to become numb to it or feel overwhelmed by it.

  5. Happy that you have accomplished your goals. Do believe that we are becoming less responsive to our surroundings resulting by the immense pressures we have on the daily lives. In a village where travelling distance is short, people are less, life are simple, we will have lots of time to me “over helpful” of what our neighbors did! Chinese do have a saying that we should only care for things that concerned us directly and should not do more that what we are supposed to do exceeds the normal relationship. Thanks for sharing.

  6. First of all, congratulations on your accomplishment!! I started to write an ebook (a lot shorter than a real book) but it stalled. Oh, I stalled. 🙂 Can’t wait to read it. Your friend, Linda

  7. Sometimes I think there is so much information out there that we have become a little desensitized. Almost like it is too hard to choose what to be passionate about because there is so much out there bombarding us. Then, when people do speak up, it often gets lost in the crowd.

  8. That’s a tough one. I think people are apathetic in a way, I don’t see as much change as I would like to and I am guilty of apathy myself. There is a bit of a “someone else will get to it attitude”. If everyone became apathetic I would think the world would go to hell. No one would do anything, would there even be anarchy? Interesting question you have raised

Leave a Reply

