What Does Homeschooling Look Like?

Standard

Hippie Academy LogoBefore I became a homeschooler I couldn’t really imagine what homeschooling looked like.  Did kids sit at desks?  At the kitchen table?  Was it all denim jumpers and home-packed lunches at the zoo? Do you use computers? Do you study textbooks? Do you spend your days skipping through the tulips and collecting pretty leaves?

With the first 1 1/2 years of our journey behind us I have to answer, “Yes.”

It can look like any of those things and every single homeschool is unique because every family is unique.

Recently, I got my first super-fancy smart phone.  Or… well… OK… I got a $20 Kyocera on clearance. But it is super-fancy compared to anything I’ve previously owned.  I know it’s fancy because the first time I actually had to use it to dial a phone number it took me 10 minutes to figure out how to make the numbers appear on the touchscreen.

It is SO FANCY it has the ability to post photos to Instagram. iPhone users, try not to be jealous of my awesome technology.  I really wasn’t looking to add ANOTHER social media network to my world but, there it was, just calling my name, day after day.

Then I took this picture of Sweet Hippie Daughter.

Little girl pretending

This was around lunchtime on a weekday.  We’ve been reading, “Call of the Wild” together and it’s possible this was her being John Thornton – a character with whom she seems mildly obsessed.  Of course, with this child it’s just as likely she was hunting zombies.  But, somehow, it captured everything I love about homeschooling.

She is having fun and being creative and enjoying her childhood at a moment when, if she were still in public school, she would be sitting at a desk in a stuffy room full of kids half sick with the annual Michigan Winter Crud.

Robert Downey Jr***I always feel the need to address the nay-sayers.  So here’s the disclaimer:  Yes, we do make her study and do actual school work.  My point is that her education is woven into the moments of her life. Her life does not revolve around school.***

And so, a plan was born. I will use my Instagram access to document those moments when I think to myself, “this is what homeschooling means for us.” I promise to do my best to give an accurate picture and not to sugar coat (too much – I probably won’t post many pictures of me yelling at my children in frustration which does happen… you know… VERY rarely.  *ahem*).

I hope you will come along for the journey with us.  It’s been great fun so far.  I can only imagine the future will just keep getting better!

Do you document your homeschool journey on social media?  If you’d like to leave your link in the comments I’d love to follow you.  It’s always great to connect and see how others are doing things and find inspiration for new and better ways to learn and grow!

 Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow Lazy Hippie Mama  by email, Facebook, Google+Twitter or Instagram to get all the updates?

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

16 responses »

    • I am always amazed by moms who homeschool more than one or two children. I think you deserve a special award and I’m pretty sure it needs to involve a fancy hotel room and a whole lot of quiet. LOL

  1. Oh, haiiii there 🙂

    To be honest, I really never had any thoughts on homeschooling one way or the other. I think families chose to do what is right for them and clearly homeschooling works for yours–your daughter looks insanely happy in that photo 🙂 It’s wonderful you can document this journey on your fancy schmancy new phone (and that I can now follow along since I’m your latest Instagram follower!).

    Happy happy New Year!

    • Thanks for following! I love that homeschooling is a choice where we live but I agree completely. It is definitely not for every family, and maybe not even for every kid in the same family. It is good for us, at this time. Who knows what the future holds? I get the distinct impression that Toddler-saurus Rex is going to change the shape of our homeschool in a big way as he continues to grow!

    • Thank you! I have days when I think it’s the greatest thing that’s ever happened and days when I’m sure I’m doing everything wrong. My husband reminds me that’s just motherhood, in general.

  2. Homeschooling isn’t for everyone, but it can be wonderful! We have done private, public AND homeschool at different times of our lives depending on our situation. I’m glad you found something that can work for your family. Moments like you described are some of the reasons I have enjoyed our time homeschooling as well.

    • One of the statements that stuck with me the most from a veteran homeschooler when we decided to start our own journey, was, “it doesn’t have to be forever. Do what’s best for your family in this season of life.” I think those are powerful words for so many aspects of life!

  3. Pingback: 7 Places To Go For Your Homeschooling Needs | My Safe Life

  4. Pingback: Addressing The Needs Of Home-Schooled Kids | My Safe Life

  5. Pingback: Are You Ready To Homeschool Your Child Yet? | My Safe Life

  6. Pingback: Best Year: The Year I Homeschooled My Child! | My Safe Life

  7. Pingback: Favorite Kid-Friendly Things of 2013 | Nanny Naturale's Yogi Care

  8. Pingback: Come Up With Projects When Homeschooling | My Safe Life

  9. Pingback: Developing Reading Skills When Homeschooling Your Child | My Safe Life

  10. Pingback: How Did Our First Semster Homeschooling Go and What I Have Learned #Homeschool - My Kinda Rain | Houston Mom Blog | Travel Blogger

Leave a Reply

