Weekend Reading – Homesteading, Healing, Fancy Cupcakes and More!

Standard

We had some fun in the snow this week – more than a foot of snow with another foot on the way.  We are winter people so we’re loving it!

snow1

snow2

snow3

snow 5

snow4

When I wasn’t playing in the snow (or digging the car out of it, or drying clothes that were soaked by it, or cooking hot food to thaw us all out) I was reading blogs.  I love all the new things I learn, the inspiration, ideas and different perspectives that people share.  Each week I come across a few blogs that I especially love. I thought you might enjoy them too, so here they are:

A beautiful, Biblical, perspective on starting this new year:  “In The Beginning” at “Pouring Down Like Rain”

A look at what it really means to be a homesteader, whether you live on a huge farm off the grid or in an apartment building:  “Homesteading is about trying” on “(Mis)adventures of a ‘born again’ farm girl”

An amazing resource for bloggers looking to earn some money: “71 Sites for Monetizing Your Blog” on “The Missing Niche”

These cupcakes sounds absolutely extraordinarily delishious but, even if you never make them, the post is worth visiting just for how pretty the photographs are!  “White Chocolate Raspberry Champagne Cupcakes” on “Living Better Together”

If you’ve ever felt like this about throwing away your Christmas cards:  “I just couldn’t bare the thought of putting my family and friends in the trash!” you might like some of these clever ideas: “Don’t Throw Away Those Christmas Cards” on “Mothering with Grace”

Next time someone in your house suffers from an ear infection, consider one of these options before reaching for antibiotics or OTC pain relievers: “Natural Herbal Remedies For Ear Infections” on “Creative Christian Mama”

Happy weekend reading!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow Lazy Hippie Mama  by emailFacebookGoogle+Twitter or Instagram to get all the updates?

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

15 responses »

  1. My children are dying to play in the snow. Hoping we get just a little bit this season. There are some great blogs mentioned here! Thank you for including me among them.

    • When it gets like this here it’s hard to remember that not all the world is covered in snow. We have enough to share this year! 😉 Your post was great. I was happy to have a chance to share it.

    • We’ve had a lot of them in our house over the years, too. One thing that really helped that wasn’t mentioned here was taking the kids to the chiropractor. I have no idea why that works but it was covered by insurance and it did the trick so I’m willing to roll with it.

    • Thank you! I always hold on to them because it seems rude to throw them away and they’re so pretty but I’m really not ambitious enough to do any kind of big glorious craft. I loved those ideas though.

    • I grew up here and then hit the road for Arizona in 1999. I adored the sunshine in the winter… for a while. Eventually I felt like, if I had to face one more hot, dry, sunny day I would wither up and crumble to dust. That was when I knew it was time to come home to the land of seasons. Here I never have to commit to any one condition for too long. Just when I’m sick of snow it’s spring. Just when I’m sick of rain it’s summer… I must be a midwesterner at heart.

    • I love how squishy they look when they are all bundled up like that. It always reminds me of that movie, “A Christmas Story,” when the little boy is crying, “I can’t put my arms down!” and the mom tells him, “Put your arms down when you get to school.” Haha!

  2. Awww, such fun pictures! Glad you are winter people…. I’m… huddled under three blankets at the sign of a snowflake. LOL. I actually really hate the cold weather and NJ has been pretty insufferable lately. BUT this post is a nice reminder to enjoy the white stuff while it lasts 🙂

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

