Whole Wheat Sandwich Rolls in the Bread Machine

Standard

When our family started making a conscious effort to eat more “real food” I switched us from cheap white bread to the fancy “all natural” whole grain bread in the store.  Then I became a little wiser about labeling and I looked at the ingredients.  I was shocked to see how many ingredients are in store bought bread.  Even the “all-natural whole-grain” versions have dozens of ingredients including preservatives and other chemicals.  Almost all of them have GMO soy, corn or sugar.

My alternative was to buy a bread machine.  I picked one up at the local thrift store for $20 and it’s earned me back that money 10 times over.

For sandwich bread I use this recipe from 100 Days of Real Food but I needed something for hamburger and hotdog buns.

I found a few that were OK but I just wasn’t quite content.  They were too sweet or too crumbly. Many of them had dairy products which we are trying to cut to the bare minimum since Sweet Hippie Daughter seems to have a hard time digesting them.

Finally, I got brave, gathered all the recipes I had together, picked my favorite parts of each, and started tossing the ingredients in my bread machine.  These buns are what came out.

They are soft and filling and just the teeniest bit sweet.

They are super easy and quick to make.  It takes me less than 5 minutes to put the ingredients in the machine and then another 10, after the dough is mixed and risen to form them and bake them in the oven.

I start with these ingredients.  In my machine, you put the wet ingredients in first, then the dry and finally the yeast. Other machines have different recommendations so be sure to follow the directions for yours.

Whole Wheat Sandwich Buns in the Bread Machine

1 Cup of warm water

1 Egg

1/4 Cup of warm (liquid) coconut oil

1/4 Cup honey (I have also used cane sugar and it was good as well)

3/4 tsp salt

3 1/4 Cups whole-wheat flour

3 tsp bread machine yeast

The dough, after rising, should be quite soft and just a little bit sticky.

Whole Wheat Sandwich Buns in the Bread Machine

I form it into 8 patties about the size and shape of a hamburger patty (or more oval if you want them for hotdogs or sausages) and bake it in two batches of four.

Why two batches of four?  Because I can’t fit 8 on my baking sheet and I’m too OCD to do a batch of six and a batch of two.

Bake them on a very lightly greased sheet for 8-10 minutes at 375F.

bread on pan

They are good for a day or two. They freeze quite well. But if you eat them still warm they are absolutely divine!

Whole Wheat Sandwich Buns in the Bread Machine

Bon Appetite!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow Lazy Hippie Mama  by emailFacebookGoogle+Twitter or Instagram to get all the updates?

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

 

 

14 responses »

    • Thanks! I’ve come a long way with that in the past year or so. Before that I was pretty sure if I ever deviated from a recipe I’d blow up the kitchen. Which I still think is possible but… hey… it’s a rental anyway. (If my landlord reads this I’m just kidding. I promise!)

    • My machine actually has a “dough” setting that is warm enough to make it rise but not hot enough to cook it. Once, though, I put it on “whole wheat” by mistake. It came out as a lovely loaf of bread. Hard to eat burgers on, but tasty. haha!

  1. For some reason my bread machine and I have never gotten along. That is why it is buried in the back of a cabinet. 😦 Passing this on to my mom and sister, since their bread machines actually like them!

    • Bummer! I’d be lost without my bread machine. It is one of the most-used appliances in my kitchen. I hope your family likes the rolls. Maybe they will share with you. 🙂

    • That’s great news! You made my day. 🙂 The HomeAcre Hop is one of my favorites. I learn SO much by stalking everyone who posts there. (I’m such a wannabe! LOL). Thank you for the feature. I’ll be sure to share it!

  2. I bought some grass-fed local ground beef for the first time, and it seems a shame to waste it on store bought, preservative-filled buns. I just pulled these out of the oven, and they smell divine. I also may have accidentally sampled one hot out of the oven slathered with butter. Thanks for the recipe! So many of the “whole wheat” hamburger bun recipes I found online called for a mix of whole wheat flour and refined all purpose flour. Fail. Thanks again!

    • I’m so happy that you liked them! I love them too and I’m with you on the grass fed beef. When you spurge on great ingredients it’s only right to pair them with other great ingredients. I bet dinner was a big hit!

Leave a Reply

