You Can Become the World’s Greatest Philanthropist : Donate to Shriners Hospital

Standard
***I am so thrilled that Marty Preston agreed to join with me for this week’s “Somebody Needs Your Help” feature.  Marty has an extraordinary story to tell and she has a great blog of her own as well!***

“Provide the highest quality care to children with
neuromusculoskeletal conditions, burn injuries and other special
healthcare needs within a compassionate, family-centered and
collaborative care environment.

  • Provide for the education of physicians and other healthcare professionals.

  • Conduct research to discover new knowledge that improves the quality of care and quality of life of children and families.

This mission is carried out without regard to race, color, creed, sex
or sect, disability, national origin or ability of a patient or family
to pay.” ~Shriner’s Hospital Mission Statement

I was born on March 16,1988 in a remote orphanage in Port Au Prince, Haiti to a malnourished mother and unknown father. I was born with several blood related diseases, an unformed spine,and deformed feet. Living in one of the more improvised parts of the world the doctors were not able to do much but wait. Luckily for me they didn’t have to wait long! In June of the same year I was adopted by a single mother out of Ohio which was great news. The bad news is by this point I had only weeks to live! Armed with this information my new mother was determined to save me…luckily she wasn’t alone.

         “The World’s Greatest Philanthropy” known formally as Shriners Hospital for Children have helping families in the United States and around the world for almost 100 years  and they have been a part of my family for 25 years!

                                 How Does it Work?

At first glance Shriners Children Hospital looks like any other hospital but unlike most hospitals it has one significant difference….its free. Yes I said free! Shriners Hospital provides specialized care to children under the age of 18 . These patients must be referred by the child’s family/primary doctor according to the specialty that needs to be treated. Shriners hospital is a network of 22 across the United States and they specialize in orthopedics, burn care, cleft lip and palate, and of course spinal injuries.

Burn Care

The first Shriners Hospital focused specifically on burn care was built in 1963. I first became aware of them when my adopted brother went there for emergency burns that he received as teenager . He is now fully recovered and lives a complete and full life. Their patients receive advanced care for burn injuries and related
scarring, along with physical rehabilitation and emotional support to
help them cope with re-entering their school or community after their
injury.You can read a full list of conditions they treat and services provided  HERE.

                                                   Orthopedics

Shriners hospital has been caring for children with orthopedic injuries since it inception. They treat a variety of pediatric orthopedics, including scoliosis, clubfoot, hip dysplasia, cerebral palsy, spina bifida (which is what I have), as well as neurological conditions that affect ambulation and movement. To learn about the long list of injuries they treat please go HERE.

 

                                                    Cleft Lip and Palate

 

Children with a cleft lip and/or
palate are treated by a group of experts who work
together to improve the child’s ability to eat, communicate, breathe and
even feel good about their looks. Each patient’s unique treatment plan
may include surgery, orthodontics, and hearing, speech and psychological
therapies to restore them to their best! Discover all the of the wonderful after care and rehabilitation services for cleft palate HERE

                                    How Can You Help? 

 “Unless we do something, the clock is ticking and within five to seven
years we’ll probably be out of the hospital business and not have any
hospitals.” ~ Chairman of the Board of Trustees Ralph Semb
The sad news is that with the uncertain economy the number of donations a charity receives declines and Shriners was not immune to this problem. But I am firm believer that every little bits helps. Here are a few ways you can donate and help a child get much needed care today! 
Basic Donation : Donations can be made to benefit a specific hospital or be given to where most needed. This form is for general donations.
 Become an Annual Giving Program Donor! By making an annual gift, you help ensure that Shriners Hospitals for
Children® can continue to deliver expert care, conduct ongoing research
and educate future generations of care providers
 Honoring those we have lost is one of the best ways to make sure their memory never dies. Upon completion of your gift, you will be given
the option to send an e-card to the honoree or next of kin.
Shriners understands that not everyone has money to give and that’s okay! There are many ways to give back including volunteering,hosting events,and more

It has been almost twenty six years since that fateful day where those around me didn’t know whether or not I would live to see another day. I cannot say that it’s been easy but I can say that I made it! I just hope that together we can give other children the same chance that was given to me so many years ago.

About Martha Preston: My name is Martha Preston but my  friends just call me Marty! I host a  blog called “Marty’s Thoughts on Life and Money” where I talk about family,college,and the stress of growing up. I spend my time helping others fill their piggy banks and hopefully we all learn something about life along the way.

I
spend my time helping others fill their piggy banks and hopefully we
all learn something about life along the way. – See more at:
http://www.thoughtsonlifeandmoney.com/p/about-me.html#sthash.ntVKMPqb.dpuf

 

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow Lazy Hippie Mama  by emailFacebookGoogle+Twitter or Instagram to get all the updates?

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve! 

My
name is Martha Preston but my  friends just call me Marty! – See more
at:
http://www.thoughtsonlifeandmoney.com/p/about-me.html#sthash.ntVKMPqb.dpuf

 

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for helping spread the word about such a great cause. I always wondered how children got to the Shriners Hospital and now I know that a family doctor gets them there. Great pieve of knowledge to have incase someone I know ever needs help.

Leave a Reply

