Change Your Lighting, Change Your Mood – a Moodies Review and Giveaway

Standard

*I received a free sample to facilitate this review. All opinions are honest and my own.

Change Your Lighting, Change Your Mood - a Moodies Review and Giveaway | LazyHippieMama.comIs there a certain room where you feel happy, relaxed, stressed, productive or sleepy? Perhaps it is the color of the space that’s affecting you.

Studies have shown that people react in certain ways to differently colored spaces.  Being in a very yellow room can speed metabolism and increase concentration, but it is also linked with losing one’s temper while pink is so calming that some professional sports teams paint the visiting locker rooms pink to keep them mellow before a game.  In spaces that are blue people are more productive – so much so that weightlifters have actually been shown to be capable of lifting heavier weights in gyms that are blue!

It’s not just the paint colors that get to us.  The very light in a room can change our brain chemistry. A large study showed that people who slept in a room where they were exposed to blue or white light struggled more with depression, even though their actual sleep habits were not disturbed at all. On the other hand, red-tinted light didn’t bother them.

Have you ever wished that you could change or soften the light in a room for a romantic dinner or party?

If you don’t have the time, money or energy to remodel your room or buy expensive, colored lights Moodies may be just the ticket.

Change Your Lighting, Change Your Mood - a Moodies Review and Giveaway | LazyHippieMama.com

Moodies are silicone covers for light bulbs. They are made from the same heat-resistant silicone that bakeware is crafted from, so they are safe against the new “pigtail” lightbulbs* and they are super easy to use. You just slip them on over the bulb and tug them off again when you are done. When they originally reached out to me to see if I’d be interested in reviewing their product I had never heard of them. I had, however, read about the ways that the colors around us affect us, and so I was intrigued.

My camera isn’t great, so the images here don’t really do the color changes justice, but you get the idea.

The space, with regular lighting:

Change Your Lighting, Change Your Mood - a Moodies Review and Giveaway | LazyHippieMama.com

Yellow:

Change Your Lighting, Change Your Mood - a Moodies Review and Giveaway | LazyHippieMama.com

Red:

Change Your Lighting, Change Your Mood - a Moodies Review and Giveaway | LazyHippieMama.com

Blue (though, for some reason the camera makes it look much more green that it seemed in person):

Change Your Lighting, Change Your Mood - a Moodies Review and Giveaway | LazyHippieMama.com

Moodies come in every color you can think of and a few you probably wouldn’t. One of the covers we received didn’t change the light much at all. I thought, “well that one is kind of lame,” but then I turned the light off and it was glowing quite brightly in the dark! It would be perfect as a nightlight. Others, like the red and blue, created a very dramatic change.  With Halloween coming, I can think of lots of ways that making a simple change in lighting might be fun!

One place I’d like to give my new light covers a try is in my youth room at church. I have always hated the harsh fluorescent lighting in there. I think a lamp with a colored cover on the bulb would go a long way toward making the space warmer and more interesting.

Of course, my kids immediately wanted them in their bedrooms. Sweet Hippie Daughter liked the purple and Toddler-saurus Rex was partial to the green.

If you’d like to try Moodies, they are only about $3 each. I also have a few to share!

Leave a comment, below, or a “like” or comment on the Facebook post related to this post and I will enter your name in a drawing to win one.
What space do you think you might like to change the mood in with a fun colored light?

*Moodies ARE NOT designed to work over the old-style incandescent lightbulbs and are not safe used in combination with them!

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on WordPress, by email or Facebook to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve!

Top Mommy Blog

If you enjoyed my blog, it would mean a lot to me if you’d toss me a vote by clicking the Top Mommy Blog banner. Thanks!

4 responses »

  1. I’ve always been very interested in color: color therapy, communicating with color. Been doing a series of blogs on how the colors we wear influence how others perceive us. I’ve not heard of these “moodies” but I am definitely wanting to try them out. A “moodie” that would enhance creativity would be awesome!

  2. I knew that colour affected moods but never thought to change the light colour. Cool idea!

    I would want a moodle to boost my imagination, productivity, and/or creativity (especially in the midst of NaNoWriMo season).

    Thanks for sharing.

    Wishing you a lovely evening.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

