Joy (A Five Minute Friday Post)

Standard

joy-quotes-pictures-3-f2ad07ee

The gist of this fabulous community is this: We write. For five minutes flat. No backtracking, no editing, just write.

Then strap on your brave, post your words on your blog, link them up. (from KateMotung.com)

Five-Minute-Friday-4-150x150

I have been learning to walk in joy. It’s been a long road.

I used to get so angry, so hurt, so lost because I didn’t understand why things were the way they were. Why did other people get breaks in life I didn’t get? Why did other people have talents I lacked? It was all just so unfair.

My questioning robbed me of joy.

It was my husband, more than anyone else that taught me what it truly means to live a joyful life. He showed me, through his example, how to be grateful for ALL things. Not some of the things. Not most of the things. Not the good things. ALL of the things.

Now I know enough to celebrate the good moments and revel in them. I shout about my victories. I love more fiercely. I stop and wallow in the fun times.

What I’m learning, though, is that, if you look hard enough… victories, love and fun are everywhere.

My shoes fit perfectly. My office is warm. My family is healthy. I got to work on time today.

Praise be to God for blessing upon blessing!

And, what’s more, is that the really crappy stuff is becoming sort of awesome too.

The weird chronic pain in my left hip makes me so thankful for the ability to stand up and walk. The large pile of bills that need to be paid with our small pile of cash remind me that I have a beautiful home with all the fabulous creature comforts. Last week’s upset tummy stopped me from binging on the unusual amount of junk food that was in our house.

At first I was squinting through the darkness to find some tiny reason to be joyful. But each reason illuminated another and another. I am finding joy, every day.

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on Twitter or Facebook to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve!

Visit my author page for all the latest info on the Heaven And Earth Series!

About Elizabeth in MI

I'm a married mama with 2 beautiful step children, 2 from my own belly, and the best husband in the universe! I work part time at my church as a secretary and youth director and I truly enjoy 3 hour naps and reading fiction beneath my education level. Write me a note, any time at lazyhippiemama@hotmail.com. I'd love to hear from you.

One response »

  1. I feel for you. I became tired just reading your list, but I’m 64 and have been there, done that so I can understand. Thank God for bedtimes for children. 🙂

Leave a Reply

