Weary (A Five Minute Friday Post)

Standard

The gist of Five Minute Friday is this: We write. For five minutes flat. No backtracking, no editing, just write.

Then strap on your brave, post your words on your blog, link them up. (from KateMotung.com)

Five-Minute-Friday-4-150x150

I’ve been working a ridiculous number of hours lately. Balance is out the window. My house is a mess. I haven’t given a thought to the fall yard clean up. I haven’t unpacked from the trip we took last weekend. Or the one we took the weekend after that. Which means we are all down to the threadbare undies with no elastic.

I am weary.

I am exhausted.

I’ve had a headache for days.

I am having trouble concentrating.

I’m getting crap done.

I’m a champion.

I’m a go-getter.

I’m a winner.

Somewhere around age thirty someone sold me a bill of goods that there needs to be BALANCE. You should have time every day for meditation, relaxation, work, household tasks, playing with the children and proper pedicures.

My toenails are a mess but, you know what? I’ve got a dream that’s bigger than painted toenails.

As I approach forty I begin to think that balance is a myth.

When my babies were newborn they commanded 99% of my attention. That left 1% for myself and the rest of the world.

When I was in school, studies demanded 99% of my attention. (#Truth: I only gave them about 50%, which is why I barely squeaked through most of my classes.)

Now I’m once again working toward something big so I am weary, but I’m not going to focus on that. The process is necessary. It’s what I must go through. But the outcome is what’s important.

When I reach that goal I’ll rest.

For a while.

I’ll revel in my success.

I’ll reconnect with those I’ve been missing.

I’ll enjoy balance.

Then I’ll find a new goal and rush head-long into weariness again, because I pretty sure that if you’re not moving forward, your inevitable slow decent backward has already begun and I fear that far more than I fear a few foggy, sleepy days.

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on Twitter or Facebook to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve!

Visit my author page for all the latest info on the Heaven And Earth Series!

2 responses »

  1. Something happened and my computer switched to your post on Joy so I made a comment there. I feel for you, but I’m 64 and your list made me weary just reading it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

