I Sort-of Love Your Fakebook

Standard
11146290_897760403579130_1542255876346962456_n

A photo from my highlight reel.

 

I’ve noticed this new trend. Everyone is posting “real” photos on Facebook; pictures of their messy kitchen, crying children, and ketchup-stained yoga pants.

I get it. Social media can certainly give a false impression of what “average” looks like. It can leave a person feeling inadequate or lonely. “Am I the only person who didn’t make gorgeous DIY valentine’s cards for their child’s class out of wood pulp and fabric scraps? He’s going to need therapy!”

It’s a balm to the weary spirit when another mom (especially one you look up to) posts a photo of the dollar-store paper cards she’s signing for her kid at 11:00 pm on February 13. Suddenly you’re not quite so alone.

My personal favorite are the sayings about how, “good moms have messy houses.”

I’m a freaking awesome mom! (Haha!)

I certainly understand why the “real” trend is gaining momentum and I don’t necessarily think it’s a bad thing.

But if you want to just keep posting your same old “fakebook,” I’m 100% OK with that.

There’s something to be said for putting your best foot forward. I applaud with you when you share your victories. The perfect fried chicken you made is making me drool. Yes, your child is intelligent far beyond the expectations of normal humans, your dog is the cutest furry animal that every existed, the Jamberry nails you’re wear are tres chic, and, clearly, your selfie is the most flattering portrait I’ve seen all day.

Pssst… I know your kid screams, too, you sometimes eat frozen pizza, your dog pooped behind the couch, and you used twelve filters on that photo.

But let’s focus on what lifts us up, shall we?

Let’s showcase the highlight reel.

Let’s post photos of the memories that make our spirits soar.

Why not?

If that’s what makes you feel good, then I am right here to give you the thumbs-up, my friend.

Won’t you please do the same for me?

12316615_1010454832309686_4445458934643312218_n

Yes. Yes, I did crop the dirty dishes out of this image of my awesome Harry Potter mug.

And if you decide that you want to come clean to the world about the fact that you ate two dozen donuts during the Superbowl and you haven’t washed dishes in four days… well… no judgement here. As I sit here typing this I realize that my kid hasn’t eaten anything remotely resembling a fruit or vegetable in… hmmm… a while now.

We’re all a work in progress.

That brings things nicely around to my own confession:

I didn’t want to make “resolutions” this year. Instead I made a 2016 to-do list. (I know. Semantics. But it calls to me.) One thing on that list was to post at least two new blog posts each month. This is the first one I’ve written since November, but… you know… work in progress.

I’m getting there.

Won’t you come along for the journey?

Are you, too, seeking to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort?

Why not follow LazyHippieMama on Twitter or Facebook to get all the updates.

If we work on our goals together, they may be a little easier to achieve!

Want to REALLY know what my busy typing fingers have been working on lately? Visit my author page for oodles of short stories and all the latest info on the Heaven And Earth Series!

 

About Elizabeth in MI

I'm a married mama with 2 beautiful step children, 2 from my own belly, and the best husband in the universe! I work part time at my church as a secretary and youth director and I truly enjoy 3 hour naps and reading fiction beneath my education level. Write me a note, any time at lazyhippiemama@hotmail.com. I'd love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

